For Job Search Assistance:
Career Services Office in Each College
Find Contact Information
To Explore Career Options:
Center for Strategic Advising & Career Counseling
Jester A115, 232-8400
Career Services Office in Each College
Find Contact Information
To Explore Career Options:
Center for Strategic Advising & Career Counseling
Jester A115, 232-8400
The UT libraries have many books and e-books that will assist you on the path to your career. Try search terms like resume, interview, or "job hunting" (with quotation marks, to search for the phrase as a whole).
Career Resources
Find Companies
Industry Overviews (Good for Interview Prep)
- Job & Career Accelerator: Users can assess their work-related interests, explore occupation profiles, search for jobs and internships, and get help preparing job-application materials.
Find Companies
- ReferenceUSA : Helps you create company lists that fit your career criteria. Here is a video detailing how to make a custom company list using ReferenceUSA. ReferenceUSA also contains job postings from Indeed.com.
- Uniworld Online : Contains directory information for foreign companies operating in the US and American companies operating abroad.
- Book of Lists : BizJournals' Book of Lists provides lists of top companies by city, according to different criteria. This is a good resource if you're looking in a specific city.
- Mergent : Advanced international company search. Allows you to make custom lists of companies by industry and country. Here is a video illustrating how to create a competitor comparison list.
Industry Overviews (Good for Interview Prep)
- MarketLine Advantage : Includes detailed company and industry reports with analyses of company strengths and weaknesses.
- FirstResearch : Contains industry reports with information on recent developments, industry trends and forecasts, and interview preparation questions.
- BizJournals : Includes business journals for 40 large American cities. These contain lists of large companies and top employers within the city.
- Factiva : Contains the Wall Street Journal, other national newspapers, and local and international news. Factiva is a great source for finding recent company news before you interview.
Search here for job postings:
Another excellent resource for networking and learning about a field is the industry/trade association. These exist specifically to disseminate information about their industry and to help make connections within the field. Often, even very small and specialized industries will have active associations. To find associations at every geographic level, add "association" to your Google search.
- Indeed.com: (Job postings from here are also available in the ReferenceUSA database)
- LinkedIn.com: Use the Jobs tab at the top of the page
Another excellent resource for networking and learning about a field is the industry/trade association. These exist specifically to disseminate information about their industry and to help make connections within the field. Often, even very small and specialized industries will have active associations. To find associations at every geographic level, add "association" to your Google search.
If you're interested in non-profit work, you can still use all of the resources listed above, but also consider these specialized sources:
- Chronicle of Philanthropy: A top news source for non-profits; also contains job postings.
- Foundation Center: A comprehensive database of U.S. grantmakers. Follow link to PND and then to Jobs.
- GuideStar.org: Contains information on over 1.7 million nonprofits.