logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Advanced Research Tips
Check out the search tools for your database or index; these are usually found behind a help link, a question mark box, or a gear image.
  • Look for *, ?, "", AND/OR/NOT, W/5 or WITHIN 5 or NEAR, BEFORE, etc.
  • Think of your search terms like math equations: "teaching or teachers and literature" will not bring back the same results as "(teaching or teachers) and literature"
Use InterLibrary Services to borrow from other libraries materials we don't have.
Use clipboard, folder, or similar functions to hold onto citations and send them to yourself.
Use RSS feed options to keep you updated on material additions that fit your search.
Use citation buttons to export citations in the correct style.
Find Dictionaries, Texts, & Critical Scholars
What fields relate to your research question? Check out the Databases by Subject
www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases > Databases by Subject

The databases and indexes listed below, in addition to others, include relevant resources for you.
Look for these designations to understand more about the resource:
D = Resource includes dictionaries
T = Resource includes supporting texts including background information and reviews of dictionaries
C = Resource includes critical scholarship about dictionaries and lexicography

Dictionaries in Other Places:
  • Catalog. Tip: Run a keyword search including the word "dictionary." See search tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search page.
  • Dictionaries/Translation. On UT Libraries online reference list: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Reference Sites > Dictionaries/Translation
  • WorldCat. Search print and electronic material we may not own, then request that material through InterLibrary Services: www.lib.utexas.edu > Choose the "Catalog" tab > Click the "WorldCat" link at the bottom left of the box. Tip: Search WorldCat through the UT Libraries site to link directly to InterLibrary Services. Check out WorldCat search tips: WorldCat Help > Searching > Search Guidelines

Where is the article, chapter, or book?
If the Catalog, database, or index record you have located does not link to the full article or book, click the button to see if the full text is available electronically or, if you are not already in the Catalog, in print in the library. No
button? Copy the name of the journal or book and search for it in the Library Catalog title search. Not in the Catalog? Ask for help or request it through InterLibrary Services.
Get Help
Contact the course librarian:

Kristen Hogan
hogank@austin.utexas.edu

IM a Librarian
 
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Research Skills Refreshers
Need a refresher on basic research skills? Check out the UT Libraries resources for undergraduates.
www.lib.utexas.edu > Resources for You > Undergraduates

Find text and videos to help you when you need to:
Find Background Information
Generate Keywords
Find Articles
Find Books
& More