logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Advanced Research Tips
Check out the search tools for your database or index; these are usually found behind a help link, a question mark box, or a gear image.
  • Look for *, ?, "", AND/OR/NOT, W/5 or WITHIN 5 or NEAR, BEFORE, etc.
  • Think of your search terms like math equations: the search "pop OR popular NEAR music" will not bring back results as relevant as "(pop or popular) NEAR music"
Use InterLibrary Services to borrow from other libraries materials we don't have.
Use clipboard, folder, or similar functions in databases and the Catalog to make a list of resources and email them to yourself.
Use RSS feed options in databases to keep you updated on material additions that fit your search.
Use citation buttons in databases to view and/or export citations in the correct style.
Explore & Refine Your Research Question
Background resources give you a general overview of your topic that will help you learn about concepts, vocabulary, and formative events related to your texts. Understanding these basic building blocks will make it easier to define a research question and build good keyword searches to search for critical analysis in the Catalog, databases, and indexes. Here are some good places to start:
Find Reviews and Analysis
What fields relate to your research question? Check out the Databases by Subject
www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases > Databases by Subject

The catalog search, databases, and indexes listed below, in addition to others, include relevant resources for you:

Found a journal in the Catalog and now you need an index?
Use Ulrichs Web to look up your publication title. In the publication record, click on Indexing to see which databases might index your publication. See if we have that database, limit to that publication title, and conduct your search. Then, find the text on the shelves or on microform.

Where is the article, chapter, or book?

If the Catalog, database, or index record you have located does not link to the full article or book, click the button to see if the full text is available electronically or, if you are not already in the Catalog, in print in the library. No
button? Copy the name of the journal or book and search for it in the Library Catalog title search. Not in the Catalog? Ask for help or request it through InterLibrary Services.
Get Help
Contact the course librarian:

Kristen Hogan
hogank@austin.utexas.edu

IM a Librarian
 
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Research Skills Refreshers
Need a research skills refresher? Check out the UT Libraries
resources for undergraduates
:
www.lib.utexas.edu
>
Resources for You > 
Undergraduates


Find text and videos to help you when you need to:
Generate Keywords
Find Articles
Find Books
Understand citations
Keep track of your citations
& more