- Look for *, ?, "", AND/OR/NOT, W/5 or WITHIN 5 or NEAR, BEFORE, etc.
- Think of your search terms like math equations: the search medieval AND women OR witches will not bring back results as relevant as medieval AND (women OR witches).
Use clipboard, folder, or similar functions in databases and the Catalog to make a list of resources and email them to yourself.
Use RSS feed options in databases to keep you updated on material additions that fit your search.
Use citation buttons in databases to view and/or export citations in the correct style.
Find Material & Social-Historical Context in encyclopedia and dictionary entries, articles, chapters, and books using databases/indexes like these:
- We showed you the print editions of the Motif-Index of Folk Literature: A Classification of Narrative Elements in Folktales, Ballads, Myths. Come visit these on the shelves to explore how your concepts traveled in other places and literatures; these volumes index particular narratives.
- Search biographical dictionaries including: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
- Cambridge Histories Online. Includes Cambridge histories of the Book in Britain, of Early Modern English Literature, of English Poetry, and of Medieval English Literature. Example: Use the advanced search to find records where the subject includes medieval and literature; in the results list, choose “view more” to preview the context.
- Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus. Map word usage with this tool from the University of Toronto.
- Early English Books Online. (Includes the English Short Title Catalogue, 1473-1800.) Find page images of works printed in England 1473-1700. Try searching keywords to see how a term or subject travels; search or browse by author; use the advanced search to limit to texts with illustrations of particular types. Tip: Check for variants or select from a list to include variations in spelling of authors and terms.
- English Poetry. Search for poetry by author, gender, nationality, literary period. Tip: To identify authors English Poetry identifies working in the Medieval (1100-1500) or Early English (1350-1500) periods, select from list for "Literary Period."
- Historical Abstracts. Try searching for events, texts, or historical periods for critical analysis of the social-historical context.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism. Trace relationships between medieval theory and criticism, classical theory and criticism, and philology to contextualize the period or your approach to the work.
- Literature Online (LION). Use Texts search to see how a particular term or historical event (like Kett’s Rebellion) has traveled in literature. Use Authors search to find authors. Tip: To identify authors LION identifies working in the Medieval (1100-1500) or Early English (1350-1500) periods, select from list for "Literary Period."
Find Critical/Scholarly Context in articles, chapters, books, and reviews using databases/indexes like these:
- International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB). To access the database, choose the “Enter Databases” button and then the “Go” button.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance.
- Literature Online (LION). Tip: For critical essays, choose "Criticism & Reference" and then choose the "Criticism" tab to conduct your search.
- Literature Resource Center.
- MLA International Bibliography. Tip: Set up an RSS feed for long-term research questions.
- JSTOR. This non-profit run scholarly database collects materials from a broad range of disciplines, so you'll need to run specific searches.
- UT Libraries Catalog. Tip: Look at search syntax on the Advanced Search page.
- WorldCat. Search print and electronic material we may not own, then request that material through InterLibrary Services: www.lib.utexas.edu > Choose the "Catalog" tab > Click the "WorldCat" link at the bottom left of the box. Tip: Search WorldCat through the UT Libraries site to link directly to InterLibrary Services. Check out WorldCat search tips: WorldCat Help > Searching > Search Guidelines
Where is the article, chapter, or book?
2. No button? Copy the name of the journal or book and search for it in the Library Catalog title search.
3. Not in the Catalog? Ask for help or request it through InterLibrary Services.
resources for graduate students:
Resources for You >
Find text and videos to help you when you need to:
Keep track of your citations