- Gale Virtual Reference Library: full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources to help find background information and define your topic.
- CQ Researcher - Overview of current hot topics written by journalists. Examples: Modernizing the Grid and 3D Printing
Using Wikipedia for Academic Research - this is a very helpful 3 minute tutorial on using Wikipedia to locate background information.
- Academic Search Complete: A comprehensive and scholarly database containing magazine, newspaper, and journal articles from across disciplines.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context: this database gathers together viewpoints and information about controversial social issues including: US Energy Grid, E-Waste, Artificial Intelligence, and more.
Subject-specific - Recommended:
- IEEE Xplore: full-text access to IEEE & IET journals, conference proceedings, & current IEEE standards.
- INSPEC: more than 7 million citations with abstracts to worldwide literature of physics, electronics & electrical engineering, computing & control, and information technology.
- Compendex: Contains more than 11 million citations with abstracts from more than 5,600 journals, reports and conference proceedings covering fields of engineering and technology.
- SPIE: SPIE journals and proceedings are core information resources for the subject areas of optics, photonics and imaging.
- ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library - Includes the full text of all ACM publications, including journals, magazines, newsletters, transactions and proceedings.
- Some terms are more common in the scientific literature (e.g. unmanned aircraft) while others are more often used by the general public (e.g. drones)
- Spell out acronyms, especially if they have common other meanings: Search "near field communications" rather than NFC (e.g. National Football Conference; National Finance Center)
NOTE: Some acronyms are very established in the EE literature, for example, RFID is more commonly used by engineers than "radio frequency identification." When in doubt, search using both terms.
Your results list may bring back a lot of hits. I recommend adding additional terms to focus your results.
Re-do the search with related terms to expand your results. A good place to look for alternative terms is under the Subject Terms in Academic Search Complete or in Keywords in IEEE Xplore.
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Library Catalog
- To find a book on your topic, start with a keyword search.
- When you find a good title, follow the subject headings for more books on the topic.
- When you find the book, browse other books in the same area for similar resources.
- Take note of the location of the book, we have over 10 libraries.
- The call number will help you locate the book on the shelf.
- Take note of the current status: If there is a date listed instead of "AVAILABLE" that means the book is checked out to another person. But you can request the book by clicking on the Pick it Up link.
- Most engineering textbooks are available for 2 hours checkout at the PMA Library in the RLM building.
- You can request most items in the catalog to be sent to any library using the Pick it Up link (but not reserve books).
- You can request an article or book chapter in any library by clicking the button. Library staff will scan it and email you a PDF of the article/chapter for free.
- InterLibrary Services Borrowing
"A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose." ISO (International Organization for Standardization)
- IEEE 802.11 (WiFi) - 425 pages
- IEEE 11073-10419 (Insulin Pump) 138 pagess
Who creates standards?
Standards are created by a variety of organizations including:
- Professional societies e.g. IEEE, ASME
- Assocations e.g. American Wire Rope Manufacturers
- Government agencies e.g. NASA
- International bodies e.g. ISO, IEC
How to find standards in the library?
While some standards are free (e.g. W3C, DOE), most standards are expensive and are not freely available on the web. The library provides access to only a fraction of the total number of standards.
- IEEE standards can be found in IEEE Xplore via our library link
- Click on Browse (top left side) and select Standards
- You can search by number (if you know the standard you need) or by keyword
Engineering Library - Science Instruction Librarian
Tel: (512) 495-4646
- Engineering Library > Finding Information - lots of online research guides to help find various types of engineering information.
- Business Library Resources - the UT business librarian has many helpful research guides and links to over 50 business databases.
- InterLibrary Services Borrowing: will obtain books, article photocopies, and other material not owned by the University of Texas libraries.
This easy-to-follow powerpoint explains the various sections of a research article e.g. literature review, methods, and results.