logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Business Research Center
Get Help
Contact the course librarian:

April Kessler
April Kessler
UTBusinessLibrarian@lib.utexas.edu
Business Library Chat
News
Factiva - A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.

Business Source Complete - Full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

All the World's Newspapers - Visit this site to find newspapers from your target country that may be available on line. Many countries even have an English-language newspaper. Reading local papers can be a good way to understand local views on current events.
Political Risk
Business Monitor Online - Covers 175 countries with quarterly forecasts and surveys in eleven key industry sectors for each country. Features latest-available data covering production, sales, imports and exports; 4-year industry forecasts. Provides ratings and reports on political risk

US Office of Foreign Assets Controls - This site lists countries embargoed by the United States and provides an in-depth look at the sanctions.

US Department of State - Travel Warnings - This site will alert you to immediate concerns relating to political risk. It can be searched by country.

CIA World Factbook - Click on your target country from the drop-down box. Read the "Government" and "Transnational Issues" sections.

Overseas Private Investment Corporation - This US government agency supplements the private sector in providing political risk insurance in developing countries. Check the site for eligibility criteria.

Multilateral Investment Guarantee Program
(World Bank Group) - This is the official site of the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Program. MIGA offers political risk insurance/guarantees in order to help developing countries attract and keep foreign investment. This site lists member countries and risk management products available to companies. Check your target country for eligibility.

Factiva - A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.

Business Source Complete - Full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Marketline Advantage - Provides: business news, opinions, country statistics and PESTLE reports, company profiles including SWOT analyses, industry reports including Porter’s 5 forces, new product launches and innovation ratings, and market data analytics for many consumer products.
Economic Conditions
De Facto Classification of Exchange Rate Regimes - An IMF site that explains the different exchange rate regimes.

Currency Converter - Washington Post - This is a currency conversion site provided by the Washington Post - possibly the most comprehensive of such sites.

FXConverter - This site allows you to check the history of your currency.

Factiva - A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.

Business Source Complete - Full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.  To view country statistics, click on Databases, then select "country statistics".

Marketline Advantage - Provides: business news, opinions, country statistics and PESTLE reports, company profiles including SWOT analyses, industry reports including Porter’s 5 forces, new product launches and innovation ratings, and market data analytics for many consumer products.
Market & Investment Potential
U.S. Government Export Portal - Look at the latest Commercial Guide for your country. Check these out under Market Research. Currently these are immediately accessible. If you want to access other reports relating to your country, you must subscribe. This is free, but it may take up to 2 days to process you.

Business Monitor Online - Covers 175 countries with quarterly forecasts and surveys in eleven key industry sectors for each country. Features latest-available data covering production, sales, imports and exports; 4-year industry forecasts.

Market Potential Indicators globalEDGE
- This site is developed by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University. It includes rankings and indexed ratings for 24 emerging markets for factors such as economic freedom, market receptivity and country risk.

IDB Population Pyramids - Obtain population pyramids that illustrate the distribution of age and sex for a specific country—now and in the future. Site created by the US Census Bureau.

POPIN: United Nations Population Informaton Network - Directory of population information on UN system websites that offers statistical information on global population trends and key areas of population fluctuations.

World Population Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau - Database of population statistics for different countries from the U.S Census Bureau.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) - Another source for country reports.

World Bank Group - This site will lead you to information concerning per capita income and purchasing power parities. It also groups countries into development level categories. Another source for country reports.

GlobalProduction.com - This site includes comparative information on labor costs for emerging markets.

US Department of Labor Bureau
- Foreign Labor Statistics - This site presents comparisons of hourly compensation costs, productivity and unit labor costs and consumer prices. The information relates mainly to developed countries though some others are included.

Factiva - A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.

Business Source Complete - Full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Marketline Advantage - Provides: business news, opinions, country statistics and PESTLE reports, company profiles including SWOT analyses, industry reports including Porter’s 5 forces, new product launches and innovation ratings, and market data analytics for many consumer products. To view country statistics, click on Databases, then select "country statistics".