logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Get Help
Contact the course librarian:

April Kessler
April Kessler
UTBusinessLibrarian@lib.utexas.edu
Business Library Chat
Oil & Gas Research Tutorials
Click the links below to view our Youtube tutorials on how to find oil & gas industry information in the following databases:
Company & Industry Overviews
Marketline Advantage - Includes detailed company and industry reports with analyses of company strengths and weaknesses.
IBISWorld - Contains industry reports with information on recent developments, industry trends and forecasts.
BCC Research - Contains reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in various industries, including a special section on energy and resources.
Thomson ONE - Contains investment bank reports on energy industry companies and for the industry as a whole, as well as company financial information. Watch the video on the login screen for help finding investment bank reports. To access this database you must use the Internet Explorer 11 Browser on a PC. If you have a Mac, you will need a windows emulator.
Country Profiles
Business Source Complete - Search by country name and then narrow results by selecting the "Country Reports" radio button in the "Filter Results By" section.
Business Monitor Online - Macroeconomic, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets
Energy-Focused Resources
Energy Information Administration - Official statistics from the U.S. government. Contains satistics and projects for particular sectors of the energy industry.
International Energy Agency - international agency that publishes summaries, reports, and statistics on the energy industry.  Full-text versions of the reports are available in the OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary
- The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Contains the World Energy Outlook and other publications from the International Energy Agency, as well as other energy reports.  Click on Books, then select Energy under Themes, or search for topics.
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management - contains statistics and facts on offshore oil and gas production and informaton on offshore renewable energy projects, including wind, wave, and solar.
Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement - provides statistics on offshore production, regulations and guidance, status of well permits, and lists citations in its new section.
Import & Export
UnComtrade - Find information on any commodity from any country. Includes larger overviews of imports and exports by country and main categories of commodities, such as food or fuels or machinery
Import Genius - Collects and organizes shipping manifests and customs records from government agencies and private companies around the world for product shipments into U.S. ports. Must create an account using your utexas.edu email account.