logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Advanced Research Tips
Check out the search tools for your database or index; these are usually found behind a help link, a question mark box, or a gear image.
  • Look for *, ?, "", AND/OR/NOT, W/5 or WITHIN 5 or NEAR, BEFORE, etc.
  • Think of your search terms like math equations: the search "queer OR lesbian AND disabil*" will not bring back results as relevant as "(queer OR lesbian) AND disabil*"
Use InterLibrary Services to borrow from other libraries materials we don't have.
Use clipboard, folder, or similar functions in databases and the Catalog to make a list of resources and email them to yourself.
Use RSS feed options in databases to keep you updated on material additions that fit your search.
Use citation buttons in databases to view and/or export citations in the correct style.
Explore & Refine Your Question & Methods
Background resources give you a general overview of your topic that will help you learn about concepts, vocabulary, and formative events related to your texts. Understanding these basic building blocks will make it easier to define a research question and build good keyword searches to search for critical analysis in the Catalog, databases, and indexes. Here are some good places to start:
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library. Search 100+ subject encyclopedias online to build your understanding of the historical, cultural, and formal context of a work.
  • Subject Encyclopedias. Look for coverage of your subject area in these specialized encyclopedias.
  • Catalog. Find resources on feminist research methods with the Keyword Search. For example: feminis* NEAR research*. Looking for activist or community-based research? Try feminis* NEAR research* AND (activis* OR communit*). Search for subject bibliographies and use as a search filter the Black Queer Studies Collection.
Find Analysis, Texts, & Archival Material
Find critical scholarship using databases/indexes:
Find primary texts using these Library tools and strategies:

Where is the article, chapter, or book?
If the Catalog, database, or index record you have located does not link to the full article or book, click the button to see if the full text is available electronically or, if you are not already in the Catalog, in print in the library. No
button? Copy the name of the journal or book and search for it in the Library Catalog title search. Not in the Catalog? Ask for help or request it through InterLibrary Services.
Get Help
Contact your librarian:

Kristen Hogan
Women's & Gender Studies &
English Literature Librarian
hogank@austin.utexas.edu
Women's & Gender Studies/LGBT/ Sexuality Studies Research Guide

IM a Librarian
 
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Research Skills Refreshers
Need a research skills refresher? Check out the UT Libraries
resources for graduate students
:
www.lib.utexas.edu
>
Resources for You >
Graduate Students

Find text and videos to help you when you need to:
Generate Keywords
Find Articles
Find Books
Understand citations
Keep track of your citations
& more