Step 1: Choose keywords which describe the main concepts of your topic. Be sure to think of synonyms, as well as broader and narrower terms.
Concept 1 Concept 2
female college students eating disorders
college women bulimia
anorexia
Step 2: Combine your keywords using AND and OR
TIP: This keyword tool lets you brainstorm online and send the results in a grid to yourself.
Example Topic: Female college students with eating disorders
Concept 1 Concept 2
female college students eating disorders
college women bulimia
anorexia
Step 2: Combine your keywords using AND and OR
- AND = Searches for articles containing both words – narrows a search
- OR = Searches for articles containing one or another word – broadens a search
TIP: This keyword tool lets you brainstorm online and send the results in a grid to yourself.
I. Library Article Databases
Choose a database to search for articles from scholarly or non-scholarly sources on different topics.
Databases by Subject: databases organized by academic discipline.
Ex.: Choose PsycInfo for scholarly articles from psychology
Multi-disciplinary Databases: databases which cover numerous academic disciplines.
Ex.: Academic Search Complete includes scholarly & non-scholarly articles from all disciplines
TIP: To find out what a database contains, click About next to the database name.
II. Google Scholar
Google Scholar uses Google's search engine to return results for scholarly articles, books and reports.
TIP: Search GoogleScholar through the Libraries Web Site (from the databases page under G) so that when you find something useful, you are connected to the resources of the Libraries rather than being asked to pay.
III. ScoUT
Search most, but not all, library content at once and use the limiters on the left side bar after your search to narrow down to the type of article you want.
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > LibSearch Box > Articles tab
Choose a database to search for articles from scholarly or non-scholarly sources on different topics.
Databases by Subject: databases organized by academic discipline.
Ex.: Choose PsycInfo for scholarly articles from psychology
Multi-disciplinary Databases: databases which cover numerous academic disciplines.
Ex.: Academic Search Complete includes scholarly & non-scholarly articles from all disciplines
TIP: To find out what a database contains, click About next to the database name.
II. Google Scholar
Google Scholar uses Google's search engine to return results for scholarly articles, books and reports.
TIP: Search GoogleScholar through the Libraries Web Site (from the databases page under G) so that when you find something useful, you are connected to the resources of the Libraries rather than being asked to pay.
III. ScoUT
Search most, but not all, library content at once and use the limiters on the left side bar after your search to narrow down to the type of article you want.
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > LibSearch Box > Articles tab
If the article is not full-text in the database you are searching, you have three options:
- Follow
to see if it is available in another database or in print in the library.
- Search for the title of the journal (not the title of the article) in the Library Catalog (use both boxes) to find it online or in print.
- If we do not own the article in any format, place an Interlibrary Loan request for it. We will get the article from a partner library and email you when it arrives. Free and unlimited.
Method 1: Search ScoUT for the title of the article.
Method 2: Search for the journal title using the Journal Title search in the Library Catalog. Use both boxes to look for online and print version. Use the citation information (year, volume, issue) to drill down to the article you need.
Need more? Try this guide.
Method 2: Search for the journal title using the Journal Title search in the Library Catalog. Use both boxes to look for online and print version. Use the citation information (year, volume, issue) to drill down to the article you need.
Need more? Try this guide.
The Libraries subscribe to hundreds of thousands of newspapers, magazines and journals in print and online.
• Search the Library Catalog by the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper to see if we subscribe to it in print or online (use both boxes). Newer issues of print journals are shelved separately than older issues, which are bound and placed in the stacks or available on microfilm.
• Search the Library Catalog by the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper to see if we subscribe to it in print or online (use both boxes). Newer issues of print journals are shelved separately than older issues, which are bound and placed in the stacks or available on microfilm.
IM a Librarian
Mon-Thurs, 10am - midnight
Fri, 10am - 4pm
Sun, 6pm - midnight
Call or Visit a Campus Library
Hours vary
Email a Librarian
Make an Appointment for a Consultation
Mon-Thurs, 10am - midnight
Fri, 10am - 4pm
Sun, 6pm - midnight
Call or Visit a Campus Library
Hours vary
Email a Librarian
Make an Appointment for a Consultation