Academic Search Complete
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Astrophysics Data Systems (ADS)
ASFA Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts
Engineering Index
GeoRef
Google Scholar
INSPEC (Physics, Computers, Electrical Engineering)
MathSciNet
Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text
PubMed -- or alternate interface MEDLINE
SciFinder (Chemistry)
Web of Science
WorldCat -- useful for identifying resources UT does not own, especially dissertations
Additional databases by subject
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Astrophysics Data Systems (ADS)
ASFA Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts
Engineering Index
GeoRef
Google Scholar
INSPEC (Physics, Computers, Electrical Engineering)
MathSciNet
Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text
PubMed -- or alternate interface MEDLINE
SciFinder (Chemistry)
Web of Science
WorldCat -- useful for identifying resources UT does not own, especially dissertations
Additional databases by subject
Most databases have an option for limiting your search to Review Articles, look for limits, facets or filters to select document type.
- INSPEC -- in advanced Search use the Treatment dropdown window, selecting General or Review
- GeoRef -- no option for review articles, consider searching in GeoScienceWorld
- Annual Reviews -- Over 30 series covering topics in biomedical, physical & social sciences.
- Review journals -- There are numerous review journals which primarily publish review articles in most disciplines.
Web of Science special features:
- Analyze, from any group of search results; Allows you to group and rank records in a results set by extracting data values from a variety of fields. Use this function to find the most prevalent authors in a particular field of study or generate a list of institutions ranked by record count based on your search query.
- Citation Report, from any group of search results; includes H-index; Citation Report provides aggregate citation statistics for a set of search results.
- Cited reference searching
Susan Ardis, Engineering
Roxanne Bogucka, Nutrition & Nursing
Larayne Dallas, Engineering
Liz DeHart, Marine Science
Nancy Elder, Biology, Pharmacy, Health Education
David Flaxbart, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Bill Kopplin, Computer Science
Robyn Rosenberg, Biomedical Engineering
Dennis Trombatore, Geological Sciences
Molly White, Physics, Astronomy & Mathematics
Ask a Librarian
Roxanne Bogucka, Nutrition & Nursing
Larayne Dallas, Engineering
Liz DeHart, Marine Science
Nancy Elder, Biology, Pharmacy, Health Education
David Flaxbart, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Bill Kopplin, Computer Science
Robyn Rosenberg, Biomedical Engineering
Dennis Trombatore, Geological Sciences
Molly White, Physics, Astronomy & Mathematics
Ask a Librarian
Suggest a Purchase -- recommend a book or journal for our collections
Alerts -- set up a free personal login for most databases or journals
Journal Citation Report (Science Edition, Social Science Edition) -- to find the Impact Factor of a journal (journal rankings)
Bibliography Software
Library Classes
Industry Standards
Alerts -- set up a free personal login for most databases or journals
- receive table of contents for a journal
- receive article alerts by topic in a specific journal
- receive article alerts by author
- receive article alerts by topic from all database coverage
Journal Citation Report (Science Edition, Social Science Edition) -- to find the Impact Factor of a journal (journal rankings)
Bibliography Software
Library Classes
Industry Standards
- Astrophysics Data Systems
- Citation Searching
- EBSCO databases, including MEDLINE, INSPEC, GEOREF, Academic Search Complete
- MathSciNet
- Patents
- PubMed
- SciFinder
- Web of Science , including Citation Searching