logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Get Help
Contact the course librarian:

April Kessler
April Kessler
UTBusinessLibrarian@lib.utexas.edu
Business Library Chat
Financials
Public Company Financials
These resources provide the companies' financial disclosures and reports showing further analysis.

  • Thomson ONE: Financial comps, SEC filings, investment bank reports
  • Mergent: SEC filings, 15 years of financials, annual reports, create comparison reports

Private Company Ratios
Since private company financials are not disclosed, ratios can provide a benchmark for comparison and sizing the market.

  •  eStatement Studies: Financial ratio benchmarks for private companies by region and company size segments

News
  • BizJournals : Local business news and in-depth analysis from 40 business journals titles from around the U.S. Best for finding information on smaller private companies.
  • Business Source Complete : Journal, trade publication and magazine articles covering all aspects of business.
  • Factiva : Newspapers and trade publications from around the world - includes the Wall Street Journal and Financial Times. LImit to local newspapers to find informaiton on private companies.
  • FT.com:  Create your McCombs account to get FT.com content on your devices.
Resume writing and interview prep
Use search box below to look for books and ebooks on resume writing and interview preparation.

Simple and broad searches work best: interview questions, resume.
Book Search
Search for in
Career Resources
  • MSIROM Career ServicesCareer advising and workshops, assistance with resumes and cover letters, and information about recruiting events.
Find Companies
  • ReferenceUSA : Helps you create company lists that fit your career criteria.  Here is a video detailing how to make a custom company list using ReferenceUSA.  ReferenceUSA also contains job postings from Indeed.com.
  • Uniworld Online : Contains directory information for foreign companies operating in the US and American companies operating abroad.
  • Book of Lists : BizJournals' Book of Lists provides lists of top companies by city, according to different criteria.  This is a good resource if you're looking in a specific city.
  • Mergent : Advanced international company search.  Here is a video that will show you how to make custom lists of companies by industry and country.
  • Capital IQ: Screen for companies based on 100s of items, view top companies in an industry.   MSIROM student have access to Capital IQ in the FTTC lab. See lab policies for more information.
Industry Overviews
Industry overviews are great for interview preparation.  These resources will help you find competitors, industry news, recent mergers & aquisitions, and more.
  • MarketLine Advantage : Includes detailed company and industry reports with analyses of company strengths and weaknesses.
  • FirstResearch : Contains industry reports with information on recent developments, industry trends and forecasts, and interview preparation questions.
  • Thomson ONE : Company overviews, news, financials, comparables, and investment bank reports. You must use Internet Explorer.  Here is a video explaining how to find investment bank reports in Thomson ONE:
Business Analytics
Websites
Books
Consulting
Websites
  • Association of Management Consulting Firms: Oldest and largest organization that represents management consulting firms. Twenty percent of members are international. ACMF members employ over 55,000 management consultants in over 100 countries. A list of these members can be found on this site.
  • Consulting Magazine: Contains breaking news about consulting firms as well as information about consulting careers. It provides rankings for best firms to work.
Books
  • Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory: Guide to more than 26,000 firms and individuals in the field of consulting. Contains the following indexes: geographic, consulting activities, and consulting firms.
  • Plunkett’s Consulting Industry Almanac: Contains trends, industry trends analysis, statistical tables and an industry glossary. One page profiles of over 250 top consulting industry firms, including addresses, phone numbers and executive names. Library eBook.