- Break your research question into key concepts (you'll connect these in your paper to make an original argument).
- For each of these concepts, brainstorm multiple keywords.
women's (bodies) as other in the Bible
2. Combine keywords using AND and OR:
- Too many results? Narrow using AND. Ex: Decameron AND women
- Too few results? Broaden using OR. Ex: Decameron AND (wom* OR female* OR gender*)
- Put parentheses around synonyms.
- The asterisk finds multiple endings. Ex: wom* will bring back women, woman's, wombat, etc.
3. Brush up on the search tools available:
- Learn about concepts, key resources (bibliographies), vocabulary, and events related to your texts.
- Find keywords to search in subject-specific databases.
Here are some good places to start:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library. Subject-specific encyclopedias
- American National Biography. Biographical sketches of US authors
- Dictionary of Literary Biography. Outlines of authors' careers with bibliographies and historical events
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB). Biographical sketches of British authors
- Catalog search for your topic and encyclopedia, biography, or bibliography. Ex: "franz kafka" AND (encyclopedia OR biography OR bibliography).
- MLA International Bibliography - Critical material on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
- Literature Online (ABELL) - Rival to MLA.
Tip: Read the "About" pages connected to the databases.
Tip: Some subjects list "Top Databases" (at right of Databases by Subject lists)
- ATLA Religion Database Full text
- Alt Press Watch – Articles representing “alternative” press (non-mainstream) across America, 1970- .
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Ethnic NewsWatch – Some international cover, includes full text of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and ‘native’ press, 1985-
- Gender Studies Database
- Historical Abstracts - journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present.
- Where is the article?
Undergraduate Writing Center: Drop in or make an appointment to visit with a trained writing consultant.