logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Brainstorm and Use Keywords
1. Save time, Prepare to research!
  • Break your research question into key concepts (you'll connect these in your paper to make an original argument).
  • For each of these concepts, brainstorm multiple keywords.

Sample Topic:

feminist poetry as witness

Key Concepts

feministpoetry

witness

Related Keywords

feminis*
wom*
gender*
antirac*

poet*
writing*
author*
stanza*

witness*
trauma*
memoir*

  • Try this keyword tool to brainstorm online and send the results to yourself.

2. Combine keywords using AND and OR:
  • Too many results? Narrow using AND. Ex: Decameron AND women
  • Too few results? Broaden using OR. Ex: Decameron AND (wom* OR female* OR gender*)
  • Put parentheses around synonyms.
  • The asterisk finds multiple endings. Ex: wom* will bring back women, woman's, wombat, etc.

3. Brush up on the search tools available:
Find Background Information
Background Information can save you time by giving you an overview of your topic.
Learn about concepts, vocabulary, and events related to your texts.
Find keywords to search in subject-specific databases.

Here are some good places to start:
Find Articles
1. I've created a personalized research guide for each of your topics. Take a look at yours below for a list of suggested related fields and their database lists as well as a few databases relevant to your research.

2. Think about which fields might discuss your issues. Check out the Research Guides the librarians have created for those fields: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Research by Subject > Use the RG buttons

3. The databases listed below include resources for general humanities and social sciences research questions:

Find Books
Start here:  www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Library Catalog

Find Books on a Topic:
  • To find books on your topic, start with a keyword search in the Catalog. Use the search tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search page.
  • To find background information and collected essays on your topic, add keyword search terms including "bibliography," "critical," and "encyclopedia."
  • When you find a useful book, look at the Subject Headings in the record and use those as keyword searches to find more books addressing similar topics.

Where are the books?

Watch the "How to Find Books" Video Tutorial in the sidebar for directions on getting from the catalog record to the book on the shelf.

And one more tool:
GoogleBooksSearch inside hundreds of thousands of books for your topic, just as you would search Google. If you find an excerpt from a book that might be useful, check the Library Catalog to see if we have it.
Where Is the Full Text?
Found a citation and can't find the full text? Here's how:
  1. Does the Catalog or database record you have found include full text? (Look for an HTML or PDF link.)
     
  2. If not, does the record have a button?
    • If yes, click the button to see if we have access to the electronic or print versions.
    • If not, copy the title of the journal or book (not the article or chapter) and use the Library Catalog title search.
       
  3. Can't find the text in electronic or print library material? Ask for help or request it through InterLibrary Services.
Is it Scholarly?
Use this decision tree and grid to help determine if your source is scholarly:
Write & Cite
Cite Your Sources:  A grid to help you choose the right citation tool and help using them.  Includes information about NoodleBib, which helps you format APA, MLA and Chicago style bibliographies you can download as Word documents and turn in.

Undergraduate Writing Center:  drop in or make an appointment to visit with a trained writing consultant.
Applying Social Entrepreneurship
Applying Social Entrepreneurship to Real Estate

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Business
Social Work
Sociology

These databases address facets of your topic:
Business Source Complete
Sociological Abstracts
Alt-Press Watch
Changing Reality in North Korea
Changing Reality in North Korea and What That Means for Its People

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
East Asian Studies
Political Science & Government
Women's & Gender Studies

These databases address facets of your topic:
Bibliography of Asian Studies
PAIS International
Gender Studies Database

Cocaine and the Pharmaceutical Industry
Cocaine and the Growth of the American Pharmaceutical Industry

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
American Studies
Business
Pharmacy

These databases address facets of your topic:
America: History and Life
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Academic Search Complete

Creative Writing (Short Stories)
Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Ecology
English Literature
Geology
History
Psychology

Also take a look at these and other lists of Databases by Type:
Historical Newspapers
Maps

These databases and reference tools may address facets of your topic:
Short Story Index
Daily Life through History
Texas Migrations
Gale Virtual Reference Library
MLA International Library
PsycINFO
CrowdNoise
CrowdNoise: Using the Power of Crowdsourcing and Big Data to Build an Online Community Connecting the 3-Sided Live Music Market

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Business
Communication
Music

These databases address facets of your topic:
Business Source Complete
International Index to Performing Arts
Music Index
Dante in Art
Dante in Art: The Influence of the Inferno on Contemporary Visual Culture

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Art and Art History
Communication Studies
English Literature

These databases address facets of your topic:
Art Source
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Modern Language Association International Bibliography
Dual Language First Grade Students
Dual Language First Grade Students Learning Multiculturalism through Role Play

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Asian American Studies
Education
Social Work
Theatre & Dance

These databases address facets of your topic:
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
Chicano Database

Evolving Role of Women
Evolving Role of Women and the Family in the Modern KKK

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
African American Studies
American Studies
Sociology
Women's & Gender Studies/LGBTQ/Sexualities Studies

These databases address facets of your topic:
Alt-Press Watch
America: History and Life
Ethnic News Watch
Gender Studies Database
Sociological Abstracts
Fuego y lluvia (Fire and Rain)
Fuego y lluvia (Fire and Rain): Classical Guitar Music from the Southwest United States

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
American Studies
Music

These databases address facets of your topic:
America: History and Life
International Index to Performing Arts
Music Index
Greatest Political Myth
Greatest Political Myth: Why Democracy Fails as a Form of Human Government

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
History
Political Science and Government
Public Affairs

These databases address facets of your topic:
Historical Abstracts
PAIS International
UNBISnet
Green Building Codes
Green Building Codes Might Promote Innovation in Architectural Design

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Architecture & Planning
Business
Environmental Studies

These databases address facets of your topic:
Environment Index
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Business Source Complete

Hospice Care
Hospice Care: The Terminal Care Alternative to Euthanasia?

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Nursing
Philosophy
Social Work

These databases address facets of your topic:
Alt HealthWatch
CINHAL
Philosopher's Index

Impact of Drugs/Entrepreneurial Mind
Impact of Drugs on the Entrepreneurial Mind

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Business
Nursing
Pharmacy
Psychology

These databases address facets of your topic:
PsycINFO
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
CINHAL
Improving Outcome/Min Conscious
Improving Outcome for the Minimally Conscious State: Research Goals and Policy Recommendations

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Business
Nursing
Psychology
Public Affairs

These databases address facets of your topic:
EconLit
PsycINFO
CINHAL
Business Source Complete

Internatnl Coop/Mechanism Desgn
Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Computer Science
Political Science and Government
Public Affairs

These databases address facets of your topic:
Historical Abstracts
Inspec
PAIS International

Life Lessons in Risk Management
Life Lessons in Risk Management from Corporate Supply Chain

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Business
Psychology

These databases address facets of your topic:
Business Source Complete
PsycINFO
Memory and Personal Identity
Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Nursing
Philosophy
Psychology
English Literature

These databases address facets of your topic:
PsycINFO
CINHAL
Philosopher's Index

Modern Language Association International Bibliography
Microfinance: A Survey
Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Economics
Business
Public Affairs

These databases address facets of your topic:
Alt-Press Watch
Business Source Complete
PAIS International
EconLit
Modern Architecture in Central Europe
Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Architecture & Planning
Art and Art History
History

These databases address facets of your topic:
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Art Source
Historical Abstracts
Natural Language Processing

Natural Language Processing Applied to Human Sentiment and Professional Recruiting

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Business
Communication Studies
Computer Science
Library and Information Science

These databases address facets of your topic:
Business Source Complete
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Web of Science

Policy/Public Health for Syrian Refugees

Policy and Public Health for Syrian Refugees in Lebanon

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
History
Middle Eastern Studies
Nursing
Political Science and Government
Public Affairs

These databases address facets of your topic:
Gender Studies Database
Historical Abstracts
PAIS International
CINHAL

Race and the Supreme Court

Race and the Supreme Court: The Legal Consequences of Epistemic Failure

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
American Studies
History
Law
African American Studies
Asian American Studies
Mexican American Studies
Native American & Indigenous Studies
Women's & Gender Studies


These databases address facets of your topic:
Ethnic News Watch
Gender Studies Database
Lexis Nexis (Tip:
 Choose "Search the News" or "Look Up Legal Case")
Historical Abstracts

Racial & Cultural Influence in Mentoring
Racial & Cultural Influence in the Mentoring Role and Teachers’ Effect on Students

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Education
Sociology
Psychology

These databases address facets of your topic:
PsycINFO
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
Sociological Abstracts
Riddle/Stagnant Animal Sheltr Intakes
Riddle of Stagnant Animal Shelter Intakes in Austin, Texas

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Public Affairs
Sociology
Statistics & Demographics

Also take a look at these and other lists of Databases by Type:
Newspapers & Newswires

These databases address facets of your topic:
Environment Index
Sociological Abstracts
Lexis Nexis (Tip: Choose "Search the News")
Sign and Form
Sign & Form: Philosophy in French Industrial Design from 1970-present

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Architecture & Planning
Art and Art History
French Language & Literature
Philosophy
History

These databases address facets of your topic:
FRANCIS (International Humanities & Social Sciences)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Art Source
Historical Abstracts
Vending Machine
Vending Machine as a Mechanism in Instilling Health Dietary Habits in Children

Take a look at Research Guides in these and other subject areas:
(Hint: Look at the reference tools the librarian suggests in their research guide to learn more about your topic and find new keywords.)
Business
Education
Nutrition and Food

These databases address facets of your topic:
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
PubMed
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
Business Source Complete
Get Help
Find Your Subject Specialist Librarian:
Check the Research by Subject page, look for one of the subject areas in which you are working, and click on the librarian's name to email her for a consultation or help by email.

Need help finding your librarian?
Ask me for help!

Kristen Hogan
English Literature and
Women's and Gender Studies Librarian
hogank@austin.utexas.edu

IM a Librarian 
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Find Books Video Tutorial
 
Find Articles Video Tutorial