logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Find Background Information
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library :  Search across hundreds of encyclopedias for background information on your topic.  Use the bibliography at the end of the entries to find additional sources.
  • Ethnologue:  comprehensive catalog of most of the world's languages, compiled by the SIL (an evangelical missionary organization that emphasizes Bible translation). It provides basic information about number of speakers, etc. (but be aware that this information is not always up to date!). It also provides a list of references about those languages, including some links to pdfs. Note however that this reference list is not comprehensive, but includes only those sources produced by SIL members/affiliates. Note also that Ethnologue lists alternative language/group names within each entry.
Generate Keywords for Your Research Topic
How to Generate Keywords
This interactive tool guides you through the process of creating an effective keyword search for your research topic and then allows you to email the results to yourself and/or your instructor. You can also launch the search in the Library Catalog (to find books) or Academic Search Complete (to find popular and scholarly articles)
Find Articles and Dissertations
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases

Multidisciplinary
  • Academic Search Complete, - scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Academic OneFile - scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers
  • JSTOR - scholarly journals
  • Google Scholar - search across scholarly articles with Google.  Connect through the Libraries website to be connected to articles in our databases.

Dissertations

Discipline-specific

Find an Article from a Citation
  • If you find a good book or article, check the bibliography for other useful resources.  This guide helps you find an article when you only have the citation.

Where is the article?
  • If an article is not ful-text in the database you are searching, follow the link to see if it is available in another database or in print in the library.
Find Books
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Library Catalog

  • To find books on your topic, start with a keyword in the Library Catalog search and follow useful subjects to find more books on the topic.
  • Use GoogleBooks to search inside hundreds of thousands of books.  If you like a book you find and it isn't full text in GoogleBooks, check the Library Catalog to see if we own it.
Bibliography Suggested by Dr. Epps
Major Linguistic and Ethnographic Resources About Amazonian Peoples compiled by Dr. Epps:  Linguistic ethnographic materials amazonia.pdf pdf

http://glottolog.org/glottolog - a bibliography of useful sources organized by language

Fabre's bibliography of South American languages/peoples:http://www.ling.fi/DICCIONARIO.htm
This is an amazingly comprehensive bibliography, available online, compiled by Alain Fabre (University of Helsinki). The framework is in Spanish, but the references are fully accessible to non-Spanish speakers. Go to the website; then scroll down to the bottom of the page, and click on the language family to which your group belongs (e.g. Arawak). This will download a pdf file that begins with a) a discussion of the language family (in Spanish), b) a list of general sources relating to the family as a whole, and then c) a treatment of each member language/group in turn, with references corresponding to that group.
Get Things UT Doesn't Have
UT Libraries doesn't have the book or article you need?  Request it!
  • Interlibrary Loan,  free, unlimited service that you can use to get books and articles the UT Libraries doesn't own.
Evaluate Websites, Books and Articles
Write & Cite
Cite Your Sources:  A grid to help you choose the right citation tool and help using them.  Includes information about NoodleTools (NoodleBib), which helps you format APA, MLA and Chicago style bibliographies you can download as Word documents and turn in.  If you need help figuring out what the elements of a citation are, check out our Understanding Citations tutorial.

Undergraduate Writing Center:  drop in or make an appointment to visit with a trained writing consultant.
Get Help
Contact the course librarian:



Michele Ostrow
micheleo@austin.utexas.edu
495-4534



AJ Johnson
aj@austin.utexas.edu
495-4586

IM a Librarian 
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight

UGS Drop-in Research/Writing Labs: Get research help from Library Staff and writing help from Writing Center consultants.  Just drop by PCL 1.339 in the basement of PCL during any of the following times:
  • Thursday, November 7,  11:30 am-1:30 pm
  • Wednesday, November 13, 7:30-9:30 pm
  • Tuesday, December 3, 7:30-9:30 pm