ARTstor - Over 1 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor also offers the Images for Academic Publishing collection, which contains images contributed from the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Mellink Archive at Bryn Mawr College. The institutions have supplied publication-quailty images and agreed to make them available free-of-charge for use in scholarly publications.
Daily Life Through History - what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history as told through images
DASe (Digital Archive SErvices) Collection - Material on this site may be used for educational purposes by current faculty, students, and staff of the University of Texas at Austin. The Art and Art History Collection is growing collection that currently contains over 60,000 digital images of art and architecture. Allows you to create and download slideshows from your image sets.
JSTOR - JSTOR's holdings include over 1 million images. In the advanced search, search within captions to retrieve images:

Daily Life Through History - what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history as told through images
DASe (Digital Archive SErvices) Collection - Material on this site may be used for educational purposes by current faculty, students, and staff of the University of Texas at Austin. The Art and Art History Collection is growing collection that currently contains over 60,000 digital images of art and architecture. Allows you to create and download slideshows from your image sets.
JSTOR - JSTOR's holdings include over 1 million images. In the advanced search, search within captions to retrieve images:

Google Image Search - search by keyword, or do a reverse image search and Enter an image URL for an image hosted on the web or upload an image from your computer. This Chrome extension and this Firefox Extension allow you to search with any image on the web, simply by right-clicking on the image.
Yahoo Image Search
American Memory - Including over 9 million items from the Library of Congress's digitized American historical materials
Art Images for College Teaching - Emphasizing ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture. Disseminates images in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis
Flickr and Flickr Commons - Flickr Commons allows users to tag and search publicly held photography archives
LIFE Magazine photos - Google hosts the LIFE photo archive
New York Public Library Digital Gallery - 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections
Yahoo Image Search
American Memory - Including over 9 million items from the Library of Congress's digitized American historical materials
Art Images for College Teaching - Emphasizing ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture. Disseminates images in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis
Flickr and Flickr Commons - Flickr Commons allows users to tag and search publicly held photography archives
LIFE Magazine photos - Google hosts the LIFE photo archive
New York Public Library Digital Gallery - 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections
While you will still need to cite these images (see box at right), they come with permissions that allow you to use them more freely and, in some cases, to modify them.
Use the Advanced Search in Flickr to search for Creative Commons-licensed content and specify if you want to use the image commercially or if you would like to modify it in any way.
.jpg)
A database of millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Each image is accompanied by its specific rules for attribution.
Google's Advanced Image Search allows you to search by license.
.jpg)
Yahoo's image search allows you to refine your search after you have typed in your keywords by activating the menu on the left side of the screen:
.jpg)
Google's Advanced Image Search allows you to search by license.
.jpg)
Yahoo's image search allows you to refine your search after you have typed in your keywords by activating the menu on the left side of the screen:
.jpg)
Use the Advanced Search in Flickr to search for Creative Commons-licensed content and specify if you want to use the image commercially or if you would like to modify it in any way.
.jpg)
Class Librarian
Elise Nacca
elisenacca@austin.utexas.edu
495-4361
Art Librarian
Laura Schwartz
lschwartz@austin.utexas.edu
495-4476
Media Coordinator - Visual Resource Collection, Fine Arts Library
Sydney Kilgore
skilgore@austin.utexas.edu
495-4455
IM a Librarian
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Elise Nacca
elisenacca@austin.utexas.edu
495-4361
Art Librarian
Laura Schwartz
lschwartz@austin.utexas.edu
495-4476
Media Coordinator - Visual Resource Collection, Fine Arts Library
Sydney Kilgore
skilgore@austin.utexas.edu
495-4455
IM a Librarian
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
- Here is a list of the image collections that UT subscribes to and reccommends
- Use this guide from the Visual Resources Collection at the Fine Arts Library to find images of art works
- The PCL Map Collection has many digitized maps online for you to use
No matter what the permissions are and no matter where you find images, you need to cite them properly.
How to Cite Images
The University of Cincinnati Libraries provides a brief explanation on the proper way to cite images.
How to Cite Images
The University of Cincinnati Libraries provides a brief explanation on the proper way to cite images.