http://books.google.com
Search the full text of books (provided by publishers and libraries) to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them. Download books that are in the public domain (typically books published before 1923 in the United States).
Search the full text of books (provided by publishers and libraries) to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them. Download books that are in the public domain (typically books published before 1923 in the United States).

Once you've clicked a book, you can search it, read reviews, or find it in a library:

http://scholar.google.com/
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such
as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of
research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and
universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes a
combination of full-text and citations.
Careful...Google's definition of scholarly is not limited to peer-reviewed sources. Evaluate each source on its own.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such
as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of
research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and
universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes a
combination of full-text and citations.
Careful...Google's definition of scholarly is not limited to peer-reviewed sources. Evaluate each source on its own.
If you're searching Google Scholar from off-campus, you may be frustrated because you are being asked to pay for articles. Here's how to avoid that:
If you don’t show affiliation, you may be asked to pay for an article.
- To show affiliation with the University of Texas in a Google Scholar search, access Google Scholar through the Libraries website, www.lib.utexas.edu

OR
- Alternately, from scholar.google.com, click on the Settings gear icon
in the upper right hand corner and select 'Library Links'. Then, search for the University of Texas, check the box and Save.
If you don’t show affiliation, you may be asked to pay for an article.


.png)
Chat with a Librarian
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Call, visit or email us!
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Call, visit or email us!
Google Scholar Guide
Google Books Guide
Google Books Guide
- Google Ngrams -- Search usage of words over time
- Project Gutenberg -- Search free e-books and audiobooks
- Archive.org -- Search more free books
- Amazon.com -- Click on “Search Inside This Book”