logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Find Primary Sources
How to Find Primary Sources -
this guide provides tips and starting places for finding primary sources, including those in books in the Libraries.  Also check Databases by Type > Archival Collections and Primary Sources

There are many collections of primary sources that are available online. Here are some that might be useful:

Archival Collections at the Benson
Historical Newspapers


Other archival resources

Find Background Information
Background Information can save you tons of time by giving a big-picture, general overview of your topic that will help you learn about major aspects of your topic, help you create good search keywords and make it easier to pick a specific controversy within that topic. Here are some good places to start:
Find Articles
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases

Multidisciplinary
  • Academic Search Complete and Academic OneFile - scholarly journals and magazines
  • JSTOR -  scholarly journals
  • Google Scholar :  Use Google to search for scholarly books and articles.  Access it through the Libraries web site so you are connected to the full text of items in the libraries' collections.

Subject-specific

Can't find the Article? 
Follow to see if it is available in another database or in print in the library.
Find Books - Library Catalog
Start here: www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Library Catalog

  • Tip:   Search inside books using GoogleBooks and then check the Library Catalog to see if we have the book.
Get Help
Contact the course librarians:


Margo Gutierrez -
Librarian for U.S. Latin@ Studies
mgutierrez@austin.utexas.edu
495-4589


Christian Kelleher
Benson Archivist
kelleher@austin.utexas.edu
495-4581


AJ Johnson
Public Services Librarian
aj@austin.utexas.edu
495-4586

IM a Librarian 
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight