logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Test Prep
comaprison of test databases
Learning Express Library

You must register to use this resource since it tracks training modules completed, provides instant online scoring and customized analysis of strengths and weaknesses, and makes personalized recommendations.
Test prep covers GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT and many others.
Includes practice tests, tutorials, and downloadable ebooks
How to navigate this resource

Testing and Education Resource Center
Offers the latest college and graduate entrance exams, as well as college and vocational school information, financial aid sources, and requirements. Users can prepare for specialized tests using online practice exams for college, graduate school, the military, or trade school.
GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
includes practice tests, ebooks, quizzes and articles aimed at providing you with advice on the test, including descriptions of the test and tips and techniques for doing well on the test.
How to navigate this resource

Remember you can also find test prep books in print or as ebooks in the Library Catalog.

Want to take a free prep class? See what UT's Sanger Learning Center is offering.
Choosing a grad school
Subject heading search in the Library Catalog: Universities and colleges -- United States -- Graduate work -- Directories.

US News & World Report Annual Graduate School Rankings

GradSchools.com
Database searchable by university name or by academic subject.

Graduate Guide
Database searchable by location and academic subject

International Rankings information from UIC

Peterson’s Comprehensive listing of graduate schools and advice on application process.

Check out this timetable for applying to graduate schools from Center for Strategic Advising and Career Counseling.

Think some further on-campus research will boost your resume? Check out EUREKA, UT's searchable database of research opportunities.
Career Help
Exploring and Researching Careers: Come to this one hour workshop led by the Libraries and the Vick Center for Strategic Advising and Career Counseling. We'll go over resources available to you on campus suited to every stage of your career path.
February 27, 12-1pm in PCL 1.124

Job & Career Accelerator
: Users can assess their work-related interests, explore occupation profiles, search for jobs and internships, and get help preparing job-application materials.

Testing and Education Resource Center: Under 'Career Tools' click 'Virtual Career Library' for advice on resumes, cover letters, interviews, negotiating salaries and networking.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
- Bureau of Labor Statistics - The profiles featured here cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.

Career Services Offices at UT (listed by dept.) - make an appointment or browse the resources each office offers.

Career Consultations at UT - UT's Center for Strategic Advising and Career Counseling offers assessments, career exploration tools, confidential consultations, grad school planning assistance and more.

Career Services for Alumni (TexasExes) - As a TexasEx, you have access to some career resources.
Find a Job
Search here for job postings:

Think about applying your skills to nonprofit work:
Research a company
  • ReferenceUSA : Helps you create company lists that fit your career criteria.  Here is a video detailing how to make a custom company list using ReferenceUSA.  ReferenceUSA also contains job postings from Indeed.com.
  • Uniworld Online : Contains directory information for foreign companies operating in the US and American companies operating abroad.
  • Book of Lists : BizJournals' Book of Lists provides lists of top companies by city, according to different criteria.  This is a good resource if you're looking in a specific city.
  • Mergent : Advanced international company search. Allows you to make custom lists of companies by industry and country. Here is a video illustrating how to create a competitor comparison list.

Industry Overviews (good for interview prep)
  • MarketLine Advantage : Includes detailed company and industry reports with analyses of company strengths and weaknesses.
  • FirstResearch : Contains industry reports with information on recent developments, industry trends and forecasts, and interview preparation questions.
Stay current with a company's latest news (good for interview prep)
  • BizJournals : Includes business journals for 40 large American cities.
  • Factiva : Contains the Wall Street Journal, other national newspapers, and local and international news.
Publish your work

Publish your work online for employers & graduate schools to see

All UT students, faculty and staff are eligible to submit materials to the UT Digital Repository (UTDR). The UTDR is an online archive designed to provide open, online access to the scholarly and research works of the University of Texas at Austin, and to preserve those works for future generations. The UT Libraries manage the UTDR and offer it as a free service to the UT community. Benefits to individuals and departments who contribute work to the UTDR include:

  • Enhanced discoverability of their work through search engines like Google, Bing, and Yahoo
  • Persistent URLs for each item which make citing work easier and more reliable
  • Statistics for each item including number of downloads and where those downloads occur
  • The Library commits to the long-term preservation of all deposited work

If you are interested in submitting your work or have questions, please contact Colleen Lyon, Digital Repository Librarian, at c.lyon@austin.utexas.edu.

Get Help
Contact the course librarian:

Elise Nacca
elisenacca@austin.utexas.edu
495-4361

IM a Librarian 
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight

Special thanks to Janelle Hedstrom, UT's education librarian, for suggestions

Find Funding
See how the Regional Foundation Library can connect you to fuding sources.

Fastweb - listing of scholarships

Use handouts from our Find Funding class.
Student Loan Forgiveness
When thinking about a career, keep your student loan debt in mind. Jobs in the public sector and in nonprofits may qualify you for Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF). You may also qualify for Income Based or Income Contigent Repayment (IBR or ICR) plans to make the transistion into repayment a little easier.
Ask UT's Financial Aid Office for preparing to enter into loan repayment.
Online Identity Makeover
Before you start applying for jobs or grad schools, this may be a good time to clean up your social media presence a bit. According to Kaplan Test Prep’s 2012 Survey of College Admissions Officers, 27% of admissions officers googled an applicant to learn more about them.
Employers also use this tactic, with 45% of them opting to google candidates before hiring.

Want to know more?
Online Identity Management Class
April 9th, 12-1pm (online)
Guide and Recording of class
Library Privleges and Free Resources
After you graduate, you may feel adrift without all of the great resources you grew to love at UT.

Become a TexasEx and get access to many of our resources, including remote access to special editions of JSTOR, Business Source Complete and Academic Search Complete. If you're staying in Austin, you'll also get a courtesy borrower card, which allows you to check out materials and access many of our databases on campus (one hour of online access a day on campus).

Are you remaining a Texas Resident? Get a TexShare card and get a free courtesy borrower card, which allows you to check out materials and access many of our databases on campus (one hour of online access a day on campus).

Graduating in the spring? You'll have full library privleges throughout the following summer.

View a list of resources that are free for everyone in this blog post.