logo
Home | My Account | Sitemap | Ask a Librarian
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life
 
Definitions
Impact factor - a measure of the average number of citations for papers published in a particular journal. Used to compare journals within a discipline.

Acceptance rate - a journal's acceptance rate of articles factors into its prestige. This rate can be based on the total number of manuscripts received, or it can be decided by the editor(s).   Not all journals make their acceptance rate/s public.  Tools for locating acceptance rates include:
  • Ulrich's : Global Serials Directory - provides editor/s' names,  contact information and links to web pages of journals to contact.  Can also be used in conjunction with other resources (subject databases, Web of Science) to select publishing targets.
Subject specific sources
h-index or Hirsch index - measures the impact of a particular scientist, rather than a journal, and is calculated based upon the number of publications of a scientist and the number of times those publications were cited.

Altmetrics (alternative metrics) - how often an article is bookmarked, linked, tweeted, blogged about, etc. on the Web.
Scholarly Publishing Process
What happens to an article before it is published in an academic (peer reviewed) journal?
  1. Author submits manuscript to journal editor
  2. Editor determines whether manuscript has sufficient merit to be reviewed by editorial board or selected external reviewers
  3. Manuscript is sent back to the author with a rejection letter or it is sent on to reviewers
  4. Reviewers return the manuscript to the editor with comments and recommendations (depending on peer review model)
  5. Editor sends manuscript back to the author with either a rejection letter or a request for revisions
  6. Author revises manuscript and resubmits to editor
  7. Editor (sometimes) sends revised manuscript back to external reviewers
  8. Editor accepts or rejects manuscript
  9. Author provides editing or proofing of final copy before publication
  10. Paper is eventually published in journal
Who is part of this process?
Scholars: those who create the original piece of research. They want their work to appear in widely read prestigious journals. Did you know that some journals require authors to pay for their articles to appear in said journals? These are called 'page charges'.
Editors/Peer Reviewers: those who screen and review submissions. They are concerned with articles being a meaningful contribution to the field.
Publishers: those who are concerned with disseminating the journal and making a profit, or breaking even on publication costs.
Subscribers: institutions and libraries who are concerned with providing access to the most important and up to date research. Also of concern is the increasing and sometimes prohibitive cost of some subscriptions.

Adapted from: University of Colorado Libraries (2006). An Overview of the Scholarly Publishing Process. Publish, Not Perish.com. Retrieved September 24, 2013, from http://www.publishnotperish.org/module1/process_overview.htm
Citation Counting & Tracking
Web of Science - an interdisciplinary citation and indexing service.

1. You can choose
Cited Reference Search to find material that cite an author or work:




2. Too many results?  Modify your search, but be aware those modifications will "stick" until you undo them:




3. You can also search Web of Science for Topics, derived from titles, Abstracts, Author Keywords and "Keywords Plus".





4.  You can use those results either to find articles of interest, or to locate some target journals for publishing.



5. View "Results Analysis" by Source Title (journal title) to see a ranked list of journals on that Topic covered in Web of Science:



     Subject breakdown of journals in Web of Science:
     
    
Searching Google Scholar and Google Metrics
Why use Google Scholar for citation counting and tracking?
  • It's free
  • it's fast
  • you may be accustomed to using Google products
What should I know before I use it?
  • only includes articles that are indexed in Google Scholar, so you might miss some materials
  • some duplication may occur in your results since Google Scholar grabs its information from all over the Web
  • does not use standardized formats for authors names, so you may need to search name variations
  • it's always a good idea to check if the results are scholarly since Google does not define scholarly as a peer-reviewed publication
Sample advanced search in Google Scholar:

click on the arrow in the search bar

Once you have the advanced search up, think about what you want to know. Do you want to know the impact of a specific article? The most cited articles of a specific topic? Or do you want to see a list of an author's articles?
advanced search

Let's take a look at the results. This article was cited 159 times according to Google Scholar and 91 times in Web of Science. Google Scholar lists 7 versions, which adds to their citation count.
results in scholar

1. In Google Scholar, click on 'Metrics'

in google scholar, click on metrics

2. You can search by publication title, or browse by discipline. Click on the h5-index for detailed information about the title.

how to search for a journal

3. The h5-index gives you the journal's ranking within the discipline and shows you how many times the article has been cited in the past 5 years.

details about the journal
Journal Impact Factor

1. You can search by "Subject categories" or Journal titles:

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) : Science Edition - covers about 7,000 international science journals.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) : Social Sciences Edition - covers about 1,600 international social sciences journals.

2. Then sort by desired feature:




3. Compare with SCImago Journal & Country Rank

H-index
Finding h-index in Web of Science
1. Do an Author Search and enter the author name and any variants.
enter last name and then first intial, then add any variants

2. Select the subject area(s) in which this author is published.
which subject areas is this author published in?

3. Now, select the institution(s) with which you author is affiliated. Remember, if you exclude prior institutions, that will decrease your h-index, but you may want to isolate an institution.

4. Click 'create citation report'
create citation report

5. Here is your H-index:
hindex appears here in the report

You can also find this information in Publish or Perish:
publish or perish author impact search
Need more help?
Class Librarians:
Elise Nacca
495.4361
email

Shiela Winchester
495.4254
email

Find your Subject Specialist
Open Access
UT Digital Repository (UTDR) - open access repository for UT scholarship.

Texas Digital Library (TDL) - create or publish in an open access peer-reviewed journal, host a blog or website, or manage a conference with this Texas-wide consortium of higher education institutions.

List of Predatory Open Access Publishers
Recommended Links
Publish, Not Perish - guide to scholarly publishing designed by University of Colorado Libraries.

Publish or Perish -
Free software available in Windows or Linux formats. Analyzes citations from Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search.
Resources on Campus
Open Access Scholarly Publishing with Texas Digital Library
Discussion. October 25th, 12-1, SAC 1.118