Web Resources
Remember when web searching, use these Google Search Tips in the Advanced Google Search box to get more exact results:
- Medline Plus: authoritative information about OTCs and supplements from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
- Choose Drugs and Supplements, then search for your drug name.
- FDA Approved Drug Products: history of the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) approval of over-the-counter medicines; includes similar drugs and label information.
- FDA Consumer Health Information: updates from the FDA abut potentially hazardous medicines or food products.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library : find encyclopedia entries about your OTC medicine or abuse topic.
Remember when web searching, use these Google Search Tips in the Advanced Google Search box to get more exact results:
- Search only a specific site (ex: nih.gov) or domain (ex: .edu or .gov) by typing in your search followed by site:.org, site:.gov (ex: “dxm abuse” site:nih.gov)
- Search for an exact phrase by putting your search terms in quotation marks (ex: “over the counter”)
- Eliminate results from a specific site (ex: .com) by typing in your search followed by -.com
Read through your articles and pull out important terms and synonyms to use as keywords when searching the library's databases. Pick terms that are broader, narrower, and related to the key terms that you picked out.

Then combine them using AND and OR

Then combine them using AND and OR
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the word
Web Resources
- American Pharmacist: articles from the official publication of the American Pharmacists Association. Search for your topic in the right-hand search box, then double click the icon to read your article.
- National Center for Alternative and Complementary Medicine: fact sheets about herbs, health topics and clinical trials.
- Select the Health Info tab, then select either Topics A-Z, Herbs, or Clinical Trials from the sub-tabs.
- Dietary Supplements Label Database: information about ingredients in more than three thousand selected brands of dietary supplements.
- Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets: links to herbal and dietary supplement information from the NIH.
- Academic Search Complete and Academic OneFile : Find journal, magazine and some newspaper articles from across disciplines.
- Choose magazines and newspapers to find popular or trade articles.'
- Alt-Health Watch : Find articles from the perspective of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Health Reference Center : find articles on CAM from magazines, newspapers, and trade and scholarly journals.
- Choose the Magazines tab to find articles from trade journals.
- LexisNexis Academic : find news, magazine, and trade journal articles on the topic in your area.
- From the left-hand side, select News, then All News.
- After entering your keywords, in the Select Source area, choose Magazines from the By Type drop-down and then press Search.
If an article is not full-text in the database you are searching, you have two options:
1)Follow
to see if it is available in another database or in print in the library.
OR
2) Search for the title of the journal (not the title of the article) in the Library Catalog or the
Find a Journal page to see if it is available electronically or in print.
Find a Journal page to see if it is available electronically or in print.
Evaluate your vidoes, just as you would evaluate a website. Use the guide in the right-hand column to give you some questions to use to evaluate.
Resources:
Resources:
- YouTube.com/edu: search educational videos created from US Colleges and Universities
- UCtv.tv: search University of California’s television broadcasts on health and medicine.
- Vimeo.com: search videos created by users that may not be found on YouTube.
Consider all 5 criteria when evaluating a website and videos:
- Currency: When was this web site or video last updated or created? Is it current enough?
- Relevancy: Is this information that you are looking for? Does it talk about your topic?
- Authority: Who is the author? Is s/he an expert? Who is the publisher? Are they reputable?
- Accuracy: Is this true? Where did they get this information? Can you find evidence to back it up from another resource?
- Purpose: What is the purpose of this site? Is this fact or opinion based? Is it biased?
NoodleBib: which helps you format APA, MLA and Chicago style bibliographies you can download as Word documents and turn in.
Undergraduate Writing Center: drop in or make an appointment to visit with a trained writing consultant.
UGS Drop-in Research/Writing Labs: Get research help from Library Staff and writing help from Writing Center consultants. Just drop by PCL 1.339 in the basement of PCL during any of the following times:
Undergraduate Writing Center: drop in or make an appointment to visit with a trained writing consultant.
UGS Drop-in Research/Writing Labs: Get research help from Library Staff and writing help from Writing Center consultants. Just drop by PCL 1.339 in the basement of PCL during any of the following times:
- Wednesday, April 16th, 7-9pm
Contact the course librarian:
Cindy Fisher
cynthfisher@austin.utexas.edu // 495-4333
Chat With a Librarian (via IM)
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
Cindy Fisher
cynthfisher@austin.utexas.edu // 495-4333
Chat With a Librarian (via IM)
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight