If you're not very familiar with the topic you're writing on, look up some basic background information to give you an overview and help you identify keywords for searching.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library : Searches 100+ subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
- CQ Researcher: In-depth reports on “hot” news topics written by journalists. Shows multiple sides of an issue.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Viewpoint essays, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, court cases, and newspaper and magazines articles.
Because library article databases have to be searched differently than Google, it's best to start by brainstorming keywords. Choose keywords which represent the main concepts of your paper topic. Then for each concept, choose a number of keywords, including synonyms and related terms.
Then combine them using AND and OR
This keyword tool lets you brainstorm online and send the results to yourself.
Then combine them using AND and OR
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words
O | Concept 1 | AND | Concept 2 |
|
| ||
disease | |||
|
This keyword tool lets you brainstorm online and send the results to yourself.
www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases
Understanding the difference between popular and scholarly articles can help you choose the best sources for your assignments. Scholarly articles (in journals such as Psychological Review) are written by professors and other experts in a field, while popular articles (in magazines like Newsweek) are written by journalists. See this guide for more detail.
Multidisciplinary
This database includes articles from all areas of study as well as from popular sources.
- Academic Search Complete : Find popular and scholarly articles from across disciplines
- LexisNexis Academic : Find newspaper articles, including The New York Times. Search Tips
- JSTOR : Find scholarly articles from all disciplines.
These databases each focus on a specific area of study. Since many topics in your course are inter-disciplinary (studied by more than one discipline) you may want to search in more than one subject-specific database to get the best results.
- PAIS: Political, social, and public policy issues. Scholarly articles as well as books and book chapters, conference proceedings and reports.
- America: History and Life: Citations for articles on U.S. current affairs and history. Use the Find It @ UT button to read the article.
- Sociological Abstracts : Find articles from sociology and related disciplines.
- EconLit : Find articles and working papers from the field of economics.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) : Find articles and other research documents from the field of education.
- Databases by Subject: Choose an academic discipline to see a list of databases relevant for that field.
www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Library Catalog
- To find a book on your topic, start with a keyword search.
- When you find a good title, follow the subject headings for more books on the topic.
- To locate the book, make sure you write down the entire call number, including the library that owns it.
- Learn more in our Find Books tutorial.
- The full text will be viewable if the book is out of copyright. Books still under copyright may provide a preview of a limited number of pages or just a snippet.
- When you find a good title, use the “Find this book in a library” feature to see if UT owns it or search for the title in the Library Catalog. (Some books don't include the "Find this book in a library" feature.) When prompted, choose the second WorldCat option (not WorldCat Local). If you're told we don't own the book when you use the "Find this book in a library" feature, doublecheck the book's availability by searching for the title in the Library Catalog.
Different databases contain the full text of different newspaper titles for different years. Your choice of newspaper and the years you want to search will determine which database you use.
Use the chart below to determine the title and dates of coverage you want to start searchign and click the newspaper title below to be taken to the database.
Follow the search tips in the first columns to limit to a particular title and editorials.
Need help? Contact the course librarian, use our chat service, or visit the PCL Information and Research Help Desk-------------------------------------->
General tips for finding opinion articles in newspaper and magazines:
Find more articles using these databases.
Use the chart below to determine the title and dates of coverage you want to start searchign and click the newspaper title below to be taken to the database.
Follow the search tips in the first columns to limit to a particular title and editorials.
Need help? Contact the course librarian, use our chat service, or visit the PCL Information and Research Help Desk-------------------------------------->
Database and Search Tips | Contains | Years of Coverage |
LexisNexis Academic Select Source > Or by Name: Newspaper Title | 1980-Present | |
Most recent 6 months | ||
1977-Present | ||
Factiva | 1979-Present | |
ProQuest Historical Newspapers | 1851-2008 | |
Limit to editorials by choosing | 1881-1998 | |
“Document Type: Editorial” | 1877-1995 |
General tips for finding opinion articles in newspaper and magazines:
- Lexis Nexis Academic: Click on News>All News, then check the box for Editorials & Opinions.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Viewpoint essays, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, court cases, and newspaper and magazines articles.
- Academic OneFile: Enter your search terms and add the word editorial. Example: Labor unions and editorial
Find more articles using these databases.
- THOMAS: Legislative information from the Library of Congress at www.thomas.gov.
- ProQuest Congressional: Find Congressional publications, including Hearings, Committee Prints, Reports, Documents and Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS Reports).
Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals
This grid will help you distinguish between scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles and popular articles. Compare your article with the components of a scholarly article.
How to Evaluate Books, Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
This guide provides you with some criteria and tips for exploring the credibility of a source by assessing authority, accuracy, currency, objectivity, and purpose.
How to Evaluate Websites
This guide provides you with criteria and tips for evaluating the credibility of a website by assessing authority, accuracy, currency, objectivity, and purpose.
What is a Primary Source?
Learn more about what defines a primary source and how to find them.
This grid will help you distinguish between scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles and popular articles. Compare your article with the components of a scholarly article.
How to Evaluate Books, Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
This guide provides you with some criteria and tips for exploring the credibility of a source by assessing authority, accuracy, currency, objectivity, and purpose.
How to Evaluate Websites
This guide provides you with criteria and tips for evaluating the credibility of a website by assessing authority, accuracy, currency, objectivity, and purpose.
What is a Primary Source?
Learn more about what defines a primary source and how to find them.
Primary sources are produced by participants or direct observers of an issue, event or time period. These sources may be recorded during the event or later on, by a participant reflecting upon the event.
Some examples of primary sources include:
Some examples of primary sources include:
Newspapers Speeches Government Documents Legal Documents Public Opinion Polls Interviews | Research Data and Statistics Letters Diaries Memoirs Autobiographies Oral Histories Photographs |
- Find Primary Sources - a guide with tips and starting places for findng primary sources
- American Decades Primary Sources - find primary sources from US history and culture - online through the Libraries
- Historical Newspaper Collections: African American Newspapers, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times , ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times , ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
Contact the course librarian:

Meghan Sitar
msitar@austin.utexas.edu
495-4449
Chat with a Librarian
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
PCL Information and Research Help Desk
512-495-4250
Hours
For Undergraduates
Meghan Sitar
msitar@austin.utexas.edu
495-4449
Chat with a Librarian
Monday-Thursday, 10am - midnight
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sunday, 6pm - midnight
PCL Information and Research Help Desk
512-495-4250
Hours
For Undergraduates
- NoodleBib: Create bibliographies in APA style. View tutorial for more info.
- Guide to Citing Sources
- All About Plagiarism tutorial
- Undergraduate Writing Center
- Thursday, November, 8, 7pm – 9pm
- Wednesday, November 14, 11:30 – 1:30pm
- Tuesday, November 27, 7pm – 9pm