LibGuides: UGS 303: Clothing/Costume as Culture / Mickey: Articles

Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
You don't know what perspective you are interested in...search many at once to learn what experts are talking about.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
What might a psychologist say about clothing?
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
covers fashion design. limited to 4 simultaneous users, so try back later if you can't get in.
Updated regularly. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
I have feelings about JSTOR - contains great stuff from all subjects - really lousy search options. Choose your keywords wisely.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Search tips!

Be persistent! Research is a lot of work and it can be frustrating. Maybe I'm a total dork (I am), but I think it's super satisfying to brainstorm keywords, play with limiters on search forms, and explore unexpected resources and disciplines to track down research. Here is an example:

What is a bibliography for?

You're making a bibliography - ever wonder why? In part, it's to allow others interested in your topic to learn more about it. So, do the same thing when you find an article you like. Scan the bibliography for the sources that inspired the author.

You can often simply copy and paste the title of the article into Google Scholar or scoUT:

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.