Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

ME 302 - Billy Wood

Get Started

Get Started

Library Databases

  • Newpaper Source -  Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science MonitorUSA TodayThe Washington PostThe Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston GlobeChicago TribuneDetroit Free PressThe Miami HeraldDaily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
     
  • Academic Search CompleteA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals

 

Reference sources can help you find and develop a research topic by providing background articles, facts, statistics, dates and other general information on most topics. 

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library is database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources to help find background information and define your topic. 
     
  • CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Examples include: Robotic Warfare, Managing Nuclear Waste, Domestic Drones, BP Oil Spill, Genetically Modified Food, Fracking, Synthetic Biology, 3D Printing, Organ Donations, and more.

Books can provide a very comprehensive view of a topic, especially if the topic is not too new.  For example, Nikola Tesla died in 1943 and there has been a lot written about him.  On the other hand, CEO Elizabeth Holmes has only been in the news recently and there are no books written about her  . . . yet.  For more information on finding books in the library: see Books and Encyclopedias.

Wikipedia can be helpful in finding background information, keywords and major concepts.  Check out this quick video on Using Wikipedia for Academic Research.  This is another great (and quick) video on Credible Websites.

To find the complete list of all our Databases go to www.lib.utexas.edu > Research Tools > Find Articles Using Databases

Multidisciplinary:

  • Academic Search Complete: A comprehensive and scholarly database containing magazine, newspaper, and journal articles from across disciplines.  
     
  • Newspaper Source - Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc.
     
  • Science in ContextProvides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.


Subject-specific:

  • ASME Digital Library: online access to all available volumes of the technical journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and to ASME conference papers starting with 2002. 
    • NOTE: To access the ASME magazine, Mechanical Engineering, you have to search in Academic Search Complete.
       
  • IEEE Xplore: full-text access to IEEE & IET journals, conference proceedings, & current IEEE standards.‚Äč
     
  • Business Source Complete - Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.


Where is the full-text?  

Click the  button to see if it is available in another database or in print in one of the libraries.
 


 InterLibrary Services (ILS): will obtain books, article photocopies, and other material not owned by the University of Texas libraries. 

Sample Editorials

Academic Search Complete or Business Source Complete

When searching for an article written about a person, use the Select a Field drop down menu and select People.

Be sure you have the correct spelling of the person, for example, if you used Steve instead of Steven, you would get 2 results rather than thousands of articles.

 


When searching for company information - it helps to select Company Entity.  Be sure you are using the correct name.


Don't forget to ask for help if you are:

  • not finding enough material on your topic
  • having problems finding the full-text of an article
  • can't find a book or are having problems with an e-book

Style Guides - Recommended Resources

Additional Help

  • Cite Your Sources - Engineering Library.  Provides information on citation managers, style guides, prevent plagiarism, and more. 
     
  • UT Writing Center - The Undergraduate Writing Center provides individual, professional advice on all aspects of writing to UT undergraduates on a drop-in basis or by appointment.

 

Talk to a Librarian!

If you need help please contact an Engineering Librarian!

Loading

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.