Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Human Rights Documentation Initiative

The UT Libraries' Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI) is committed to the long-term preservation of fragile and vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, the promotion and secure usage of human rights archival materials, and the adv

Archived Web Resources

Search by Topic

Title: Adaleh Center for Human Rights Studies
Abstract:
In Arabic and English. ADALEH Center for Human Rights is a non-governmental, non-profit organization founded in September 2003, with a mission of enforcing human rights in Jordan and Arab world. Projects include youth capacitation, training medical staff in torture detection, and capacitating lawyers in the field of human rights. Site contains news and publications.
Coverage: Asia--Jordan, Middle East
Language(s): Arabic, English
Thesaurus Term(s):
advocacy, activism, and responses to persecution--activists
armed conflict and persecution--torture
economic and labor rights--labor rights
Title: African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights / Comission Africaine des L'Homme et des Peuples
Abstract:
In English and French. Organization in based in Gambia charged with ensuring the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights throughout the African continent. Contains downloadable documents (reports, bulletins, resolutions)
Coverage: Africa
Language(s): English, French
Thesaurus Term(s):
advocacy, activism, and responses to persecution--activists
advocacy, activism, and responses to persecution--public policy organizations
civil and political rights--women's rights
economic, social, and cultural rights--economic and labor rights--labor rights
economic, social, and cultural rights--social and cultural rights--identity, ethnic
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--laws and legislation
 
Title: Albanian Helsinki Committee
Abstract:
In English. AHC, initially named the ”Forum for the Protection of Human Rights and fundamental Freedoms”, was founded on 19 December 1990 with the main objective of protecting human rights. Today the site contains materials on a wide-range of issues areas, including emigrants, minorities and police violence, among others.
Coverage: Eurasia, Europe--Albania
Language(s): English
Thesaurus Term(s):
advocacy, activism, and responses to persecution--activists
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--corruption
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--detention
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--judicial reform
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--police misconduct
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--prisons and prisoners

Search by Geographic Region

Title: Communauté des Autochtones Rwandais / Community of Autonomous Rwandans
Abstract:
In English, some French and Kinyarwanda. Non-profit organization that works with and defends the rights of the Batwa indigenous group in Rwanda. Includes background information on the Batwa, documents and reports, photographs and links to other resources. In 2007, Communauté des Autochtones Rwandais (CAURWA) changed its name to Communauté des Potiers Rwandais (COPORWA) because it became politically incorrect and illegal to work with communities drawn around ethnic lines due to the Rwandan Genocide. The organization's latest efforts can be seen at www.coporwa.org
Coverage: Africa--Rwanda
Language(s): English, French, Kinyarwanda
Thesaurus Term(s):
advocacy, activism, and responses to persecution--community development organizations
civil and political rights--discrimination, ethnic and racial
civil and political rights--discrimination, gender
civil and political rights--discrimination, socioeconomic
economic, social, and cultural rights--economic and labor rights--poverty
economic, social, and cultural rights--health and healthcare--AIDS/HIV
economic, social, and cultural rights--social and cultural rights--education
Title: African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights / Comission Africaine des L'Homme et des Peuples
Abstract:
In English and French. Organization in based in Gambia charged with ensuring the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights throughout the African continent. Contains downloadable documents (reports, bulletins, resolutions)
Coverage: Africa
Language(s): English, French
Thesaurus Term(s):
advocacy, activism, and responses to persecution--activists
advocacy, activism, and responses to persecution--public policy organizations
civil and political rights--women's rights
economic, social, and cultural rights--economic and labor rights--labor rights
economic, social, and cultural rights--social and cultural rights--identity, ethnic
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--laws and legislation
 
Title: Arab Human Rights Index
Abstract:
In Arabic and English. The Arab Human Rights Index site, sponsored by United Nations Development Programme on Governance in the Arab Region (UNDP-POGAR), is a repository for the entire set of United Nations documents pertaining to human rights and the responses, including reservations, by the Arab member states to the committees that monitor the core international human rights treaties.
Coverage: Africa , Middle East , Middle East
Language(s): Arabic, English
Thesaurus Term(s):
armed conflict and persecution--torture
civil and political rights--children's rights
civil and political rights--discrimination, ethnic and racial
civil and political rights--discrimination, socioeconomic
civil and political rights--women's rights
economic, social, and cultural rights--economic and labor rights--labor rights
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--United Nations
laws, justice, and judicial proceedings--international law
Title: Behind the Mask [Africa]
Abstract:
In English. Behind the Mask is a communication initiative around LGBTI rights and affairs in Africa. The organization considers information and communication technology (ICT) and independent journalistic activism as its main tools. By way of publishing a website magazine the organization gives voice to African LGBTI communities and provides a platform for exchange and debate for LGBTI groups, activists, individuals and allies. The site includes news, op-eds and journalistic pieces on gay rights in Africa, analysis of each African country's situation with regard to gay rights and specific sub-headings around issues of health, sexuality and religion.
Coverage: Africa
Language(s): English
Thesaurus Term(s):
advocacy, activism, and responses to persecution--activists
civil and political rights--gay / lesbian / bisexual / transgender / queer rights

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.