The UT Libraries' Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI) is committed to the long-term preservation of fragile and vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, the promotion and secure usage of human rights archival materials, and the adv
The Benson Collection is the largest specialized research library in the U.S. for the study and preservation of documents regarding Latin America. Special emphasis has been placed on current information about Mexico, Brazil and the countries of the Río de la Plata. Additionally, the Mexican American Library Program, established within the Benson Collection in 1974, collects all relevant current and retrospective books, serials, audiovisuals and archival collections related to Mexican Americans and Latinos in the United States.
The Briscoe Center for American History is part of an initiative to collect and make available to the public information regarding the history of Americans from all different backgrounds. Materials include books, photographs, letters and maps, and even historical furniture. The Center holds human rights related materials on slavery in the U.S. and the history of the southern U.S. and civil rights and social justice.
The Center for Women’s and Gender Studies at the University of Texas at Austin is dedicated to closing the leadership gap through a variety of initiatives that promote groundbreaking interdisciplinary research in the study of women and gender, support undergraduate women students in their pursuit of leadership, and assist women faculty so that they may succeed in their chosen fields and serve as mentors and role models for their students.
This educational clearing house and advocacy project creates and promotes online archives of information, art, narratives and maps that support the expansion of sustainable communities and anti-violence initiatives. This gathering site for research, information, dialogue and engagement promoting social, political and personal transformations seeks to confront violence with an online multi-lingual dialogue that crosses borders as well as cultural, ethnic/racial, economic and gendered boundaries to further social justice organizing.
The Ransom Center promotes research in the arts and humanities through the creation and preservation of archival collections and the sponsorship of fellowships, publications, exhibitions and performances. Collections at the Ransom Center are as much about arts and culture as they are about scholarship and research, which makes the center a unique resource on campus.
Human Rights Documentation Initiative
The Human Rights Documentation Initiative is a project of the University of Texas Libraries. It focuses primarily on digital collections acquired through preservation partnerships established with human rights organizations around the world.
The Perry-Castañeda Library is the primary library on the UT Austin campus and the fifth largest university library in the country. Its holdings are print, digital and audio-visual and it serves as a great starting place for young researchers.
The Rapoport Center houses a small and specialized collection of books, pamphlets, dissertations and other gray literature on Afro-descendant land rights in Brazil and Ecuador as well as other human rights topics in different geographic areas.
RADOC is the largest collection of its kind in the world and contains 10,000 books, monographs, bound articles, papers and letters, prints, transparencies, photographs, audio- and video-recorded material, framed and unframed prints and documents as well as many other non-media items. The Center regularly receives materials from various individuals and publishers, including Etudes Tsiganes, The Romany and Traveller Family History Society, Lacio Drom, The University of Hertfordshire Press and the Centre de Recherches Tsiganes.
To help revitalize and transform the current legal debate from a staunch conservative vision that lacks appropriate regard for the ways in which the law affects people's lives to a more respectful vision that values human dignity, protection of individual rights and liberties, and access to justice.
Mission: "To conduct research and generate action to prevent and end grave abuses of human rights and to demand justice for those whose rights have been violated." Focus on women’s rights, children’s rights, ending torture, abolition of the death penalty, refugee rights, prisoner of conscience rights, protection of human dignity.
The Gender and Sexuality Center provides safe spaces for all members of the UT Austin community to explore, organize, and promote learning around issues of gender and sexuality. The center also facilitates a greater responsiveness to the needs of women and the LGBTQ communities through education, outreach and advocacy.
The purpose of the SAC is to connect human rights-focused undergraduate organizations to provide a forum for ongoing dialogue about human rights and to promote communication and collaboration in undergraduate human rights activists on campus. The SAC will work in conjunction with the Bernard and Audre Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice.
The Institute for Restorative Justice and Restorative Dialog's mission is to advance meaningful accountability, victim healing and community safety through the use of restorative justice solutions to repair the harm related to conflict, crime and victimization. Special focus on Texas.
The Institute for Urban Policy Research & Analysis (IUPRA) is an interdisciplinary policy research institute that provides intersectional policy solutions. Our mission is to strengthen Black communities, promote social justice, and combat anti-Black racism using a racial equity framework.
The mission of the Institute on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (IDVSA) is to advance the knowledge base related to domestic violence and sexual assault in an effort to end violence. IDVSA accomplishes this by doing research on interpersonal violence and by providing training and technical assistance to the practitioner community and the community at large.
To educate the world about North Korea, with a strong emphasis on political and religious persecution in the nation and human rights crisis. To empower citizens to take action and make a difference. To be vigilant in defense of North Korean refugees.
Oxfam-UT is dedicated to finding and promoting lasting solutions to global poverty, hunger, and social injustice. We educate the student body about issues such as fair trade and extractive sectors as well as get active in the community to create lasting change.
Network of students and youth organizing with farm workers to eliminate sweatshop conditions and modern-day slavery in the fields. We work in alliance with the coalition of Immokalee Workers, a membership-led organization of mostly Latino, Haitian, and Mayan Indian low-wage workers based in Southwest Florida.
We are a student-edited international legal periodical, publishing 3 issues per year, in areas of law pertaining to international business and human rights litigation, US litigation with international implications, as well as other areas of international significance.
TJGL is a continuation of the Texas Journal of Women and the Law, an innovative, student-edited journal dedicated to publishing legal scholarship that explores the intersection of culture, race, and socio-economics with gender. We celebrate the advances made by advocates and seek to enhance the relationship between theoretical and practical perspectives by promoting discourse on gender and the law issues.
The purpose of the Forum is to conduct research, collect data, and write articles on various civil liberties and civil rights issues. The results will be published 3 times a year by the Forum's members.
The mission of the University of Texas Project on Conflict Resolution (UTPCR) is to change the way people think about and handle conflict in order to positively affect individuals, our communities, our nation and our world. Communication is fundamental to our approach. Communication can be the source of conflict or the path through conflict.
The White Rose Society is a holocaust remembrance and genocide awareness group. We are actively fighting to end the current genocide in Darfur. We are UT's official STAND (students taking action now Darfur) group. Join now to take a stand and promote awareness and action over apathy towards genocide.