Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Data Management

This guide is to help you prepare a data management plan.

Data Repositories

University of Texas Data Repositories

 

  • Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA) - AILLA's primary mission is to preserve materials in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America safely and permanently so that they will be available to scholars, educators, indigenous communities, and other interested people for generations to come. AILLA digitally maintains both archival and presentation formats of all media files and any corresponding documentation. AILLA's digital assets are stored in a Fedora Commons digital repository and are accessed via an Islandora Content Management System in which all digital objects, including files, folders, collections, languages, and contributors, are assigned a Persistent Identifier (PID). Metadata conforming to the Open Languages Archive Community (OLAC) are stored in Islandora as XML MODS. Access to AILLA is free and open to the public, but a site-user must create an account to view or download the digital files. Access restrictions and embargoes on files may be set by the depositor under consultation with AILLA staff. AILLA's digital resources are maintained by the University of Texas Libraries, which is committed to the long-term maintenance and preservation of AILLA's holdings.

 

  • Texas Data Repository (TDR) - TDR is a multi-tenant Dataverse instance hosted by the Texas Digital Library. Affiliates of UT-Austin may deposit and publish datasets of up to10GB each in TDR free of charge. Published datasets in the TDR are assigned Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs), are publicly accessible, and are free to access and download.

Data Repository Comparison

Repository

Features

Fees

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Provides Digital Object Identifier for datasetProvides long term preservationProvides open access optionsProvides usage statisticsIncludes terms and licensing optionsNo size limitProvides restricted access optionsAllows storage of sensitive dataProvides curation for your datasetSupports repository standards

Free with UT institutional membership

Texas Data Repository (TDR)

Provides Digital Object Identifier for datasetProvides long term preservationProvides open access optionsProvides usage statisticsIncludes terms and licensing optionsLimits file sizesProvides restricted access options

Free with UT institutional membership

Qualitative Data Repository (QDR)

Provides Digital Object Identifier for datasetProvides long term preservationProvides open access optionsProvides usage statisticsIncludes terms and licensing optionsLimits file sizesProvides restricted access optionsAllows storage of sensitive dataProvides curation for your datasetSupports repository standards

Free with UT institutional membership

Harvard Dataverse

Provides Digital Object Identifier for datasetProvides long term preservationProvides open access optionsProvides usage statisticsIncludes terms and licensing optionsLimits file sizesProvides restricted access optionsAllows storage of sensitive data

Free

 

openICPSR

Provides Digital Object Identifier for datasetProvides long term preservationProvides open access optionsProvides usage statisticsIncludes terms and licensing optionsLimits file sizes

Free use, but fee for restricted access options

 

More information regarding funder data management requirements can be found here: https://dmptool.org/public_templates

UT Libraries, CC License, adapted from: Population Research Center

Other Data Repositories

Lists of Data Repositories

  • Scientific Data Recommended Repositories - A list of disciplinary and open repositories that meet the data access, preservation and stability requirements of Nature's Scientific Data journal.‚Äč
  • NIH Data Repositories - National Institutes of Health-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to only those researchers involved in a specific research network.
  • Open Access Directory - List of data repositories worldwide
  • re3data.org - Registry of Research Data Repositories

Subject Specific Data Repositories

Open Access Mandates

Both the federal government and private funders now require that grantees make their peer-reviewed publications publicly available. Additionally, many funders also require that the data from the grant-funded work also be released.This page from the UT Arlington Library shows charts that describe where the article needs to be deposited, under what copyright license, how long the article can be locked down (which is listed as the maximum embargo period), and the funder requirements to release the data. 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.