Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

AHC 378 / CC 375 - The Athenian Empire - Perlman

In support of Spring 2020 remote research projects for The Athenian Empire

Online Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

Use this selection of online encyclopedias and dictionaries to find and compare articles with background information, overviews and key resources from articles' bibliographies. 

  • Ancient History Encyclopedia, Ancient History Foundation. Note: Pop-up ads. "Seeks to create a comprehensive web portal dealing with the many facets of ancient history across the continents."
     
  • The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome, 2010, Oxford UP, edited by Michael Gagarin and Elaine Fantham.
    500 essays, covering the ancient world from the Bronze Age to post-Justinian era (600 CE).  Index recommended.
     
  • The encyclopedia of ancient history, 2012, Wiley, edited by R. Bagnall et al.
    Article updates not included in one-time purchase.  Focus on ancient Mediterranean civilizations, from the Bronze Age to the 7th Century CE. 

 
Step 1: See (at right) "More from This Reference Work"

Step 2: Click on "Search in this Book", and search for topics

  • Livius: an online encyclopedia of articles on ancient history.  For this class only!
    ‚Äč
  • Perseus: Full text collection including articles on the ancient Greek and Roman worlds, ancient texts in tranation, maps, and images of ancient sites and objects.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.