LibGuides: AMS 370: Society, Culture, and Politics in the 1960s / Mickenberg: Campus and Local Archives

Finding Archives & Collections

ArchiveGrid
Descriptions of archival collections held by libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
Austin History Center
The Austin History Center provides the public with information about the history, current events, and activities of Austin and Travis County. AHC collects and preserves information about local governments, businesses, residents, institutions, and neighborhoods. Subject guides compiled on a range of topics can help pinpoint AHC resources that fit your research needs.
TARO
TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across Texas available to the public. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online.

Digital Archival Collections

Austin History Center Digital Collections
Use these Digital Collections to conduct directed research or just browse if you can’t make it down to our Reading Room. This website hosts only a selection of photographs from our collections.
Briscoe Center Digital Collections
Archival material digitized from the Briscoe Center showcases key themes in Texas and U.S. History, including the American South, Civil Rights and Social Justice, Political History, Music and Entertainment History, Photography and The University of Texas History (among other themes!).
Huston-Tillotson University Archives and Special Collections
The digital collections represent a portion of holdings related to academic, administrative, social, and the cultural history of Huston-Tillotson University. New materials will be added on an ongoing basis.
LLILAS Benson Digital Collections
The Benson Latin American Collection and LLILAS host or have been partners in a broad array of digital projects and initiatives. Examples include the VOCES Oral History Project, Selections from the Benson Collection and Onda Latina

Archives @ UT

How To Access the Austin Women Activists Oral History Project

Start Here: Briscoe Center for American History Home Page

Navigate to Research > Digital Collections > Browse Collections (Don’t fill in the SEARCH box)

NOW, TYPE “Austin Women Activists Oral History Project Records” (with the quotation marks) into Search box.

Click on archives box picture in the first entry > List view (upper right)

Now you will see information for all the oral histories, including short descriptions. Read through the descriptions to choose your two interviews and click on the reel icon.Once you click on the icon, you can use CTRL-F to search for keywords in the transcript.