LibGuides: Integrating Research Assignments & Library Collections into your Online Course: Books/Print Materials for Research Assignments

Access to Books for Remote Learners

If research assignments in your discipline rely upon research in our print collections and/or book based research, consider these options if your students are remote and unable to request materials from the UT Libraries print collections:

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of digitized materials, including digitized books. During this time, 43% of our print collections are available in HathiTrust (including books in copyright) to UT-Austin students, faculty and staff. Click the log in button, choose University of Texas at Austin, and select Continue to be prompted for your EID and password. Books are available to one user at a time and may not be downloaded.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication
Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.

UT Libraries EBook Collections
Ebooks from across disciplines.

Access to Books for On-site Learners

All materials must be requested through the Library Catalog by UT ID holders for retrieval at the PCL Desk. There is no access to stacks (shelves) in PCL or other library locations to browse and select books on your own.

1. Search for items in the Library Catalog and click "Pick it Up" to place your request. You will be prompted to log in with your UT EID and authenticate with DUO.

2. When your item is available for pick up at the PCL Desk, you will receive an email with instructions about how to retrieve your materials at PCL. You will need your UT ID card to retrieve your materials. It may take up to 3 business days to fulfill your request. If the item isn't on the shelf, we will notify you after searching for it twice.

3. For information about what to expect when you go to PCL to pick up your item, see Building Access.

Proxy Borrowers: Find information and a request form to sponsor a Proxy Borrower to check out Libraries materials on your behalf.

Archives and Special Collections: Find information about access to UT Libraries Archives and Special Collections during this time.