LLILAS Benson Digital Collections and Content

This site features online exhibits and collection highlights from a range of Benson and UT Libraries holdings.

Lázaro de la Garza was the financial agent for Mexican Revolution leader Francisco "Pancho" Villa from 1913 through 1915. His archive comprises letters, telegrams, and financial documents, some of which was encoded. While the correspondence focused on economic transactions, it also touched on political, social, and personal matters. This project includes the transcribed correspondence, and a map of Villa's movements.

The Latin American Press Review radio program, produced by the Longhorn Radio Network, covered all of Latin America and the Caribbean, airing from 1973 to 1974. Divided into two segments, each program began with a news segment that highlighted a variety of reports from across Latin America, while the second half consisted of interviews or discussions with a variety of groups and/or individuals. A diverse number of topics were covered including human rights abuses, economic conditions, music, popular culture, and the history and politics of the region. The project includes summaries, transcriptions, and annotations of each radio program.

The Benson Latin American Collection preserves a large number of official photographs taken during Mexico's 1910 independence centennial celebrations, also known as the Centenario. This portal offers online access to over a thousand images through an interactive map, explores recurring themes within these photographs, provides an introduction to the Centenario, and includes related resources for teaching and learning.

Original manuscripts and maps created in response to the first survey of New Spain mandated by King Philip II. They include historical, cultural, and geographical information about the region in the 16th century. The collection can be explored through a digital map that links to the digitized resources.