Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

EDC 363: Social Entrepreneurship in Youth & Community Studies

Peer Reviewed Research

Finding Peer Reviewed Research

The databases below are great places to start your search for peer reviewed research about your social issues and about social entrepreneurship. To search them all at once, go into one of the databases, then follow the "Choose Databases" and then select additional databases. 

Interfaces and search options vary across databases, but best practices for searching are relatively consistent across tools. No matter which database you choose, remember these important tips...

1) Don't search wth your topic as a single phrase! Determine the key concepts of your topic. Then place each concept in its own search bar.  For example...

2) Use ORs to string together synonyms or related terms for core concepts...

3) Use truncation, when appropriate. Adding an * to the end of a word will catch all forms of that word. For example, teach* will return teach, teachers, teaching, etc.  

 

You may have found too many articles about your social issue. If so, you need to determine which ones you'll actually benefit from as you develop your business plans.

If you haven't already, make sure you add terms that get at solutions or best practices. Consider terms like...

  • intervention
  • programs
  • outcomes
  • evidence-based

 

 

 

Look for the "peer reviewed" limit in each database. You can set this limit on the main search screen (before you search) or narrow your results after you've started your search. Set date limits as appropriate for your topic..The last 10 years is often a good default. Don't choose the "Full Text" limit! Read the "Accessing the Articles" section to learn why.

When reviewing the results, you'll sometimes see the the full text of the article is included in the results...

But sometimes the full text isn't right there. In those cases, don't skip it if the article is a good match for you. Always click on the "Find it @ UT" button to see if we have online access from another source....

If the "Find it @ UT" button doesn't take you to a copy, you can always request the article through our Interlibrary Loan service. We'll borrow a PDF for you!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.