Center for the Study of Race and Democracy Research Fellows Program (LBJ)

This manual provides guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, as well as an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.

The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. The Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It shows how to cite sources and create useful entries for the works-cited list.

This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of self-published authors and open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters include social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language.

The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates areincluded in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updatedguidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-dateon word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations.Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer tonearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.