Request a scan of a book chapter or article

Get a Scan is a free service that allows current university affiliated patrons to request scans of single book chapters and articles from the Libraries collections or from other libraries. We can provide one chapter/article per request, and up to 3 chapters from a single book with individual requests. We cannot provide scans of full books.

We utilize HathiTrust and will provide links to full text eBooks when HathiTrust can be used to fulfill your request

Fill out the Article/Chapter request form. Providing a complete and accurate citation can expedite delivery time. Google Scholar is useful for checking a citation if you are unsure of the accuracy of your source. Google Scholar may also link to the full text of the article you seek.

When your request is ready, you will receive an email with a link to download your chapter or article in PDF format from our platform. You must access your content within 30 days, at which point it will be deleted from the server. We are unable to provide your content again after 30 days; you will need submit a new request if you would still like the material.

Get a Scan Request

Faculty and Instructor Course Materials Request

We will scan or obtain articles and single book chapters for use on a Canvas site.

Course Materials Request

The following considerations apply:

• Only one chapter/article per request form.
• Allow 3-5 days for your request to be filled.
• Entire books cannot be scanned.

Get a Scan FAQ

Who is eligible?

Current university students, faculty and staff as well as university retirees. See Interlibrary Services for Organizations and Document Express for Individuals if you are not a current student, faculty or staff.

How long does it take?

A Get a Scan request takes from 3-5 days for you to receive your scan. In the event that we are unable to scan an article or chapter from the Libraries collections, we will order it from another library, and delivery may take longer than three days.

What can I request to be scanned?

You can request:

• Articles and book chapters that are 50 pages or less. One article or chapter per request form.
• Entire books published before 1923 (page limit and exceptions below still apply).
• Ebooks.

​Restrictions:

• Only one article or chapter per request form submitted.
• Only three chapters from a book still within copyright may be scanned.
• We cannot scan chapters from books that you currently have checked out.
• There is no rush processing available for the Get A Scan service.
• Requests for entire books submitted systematically chapter by chapter are a copyright violation. We recommend requesting an ebook instead.
• Get a Scan is not a replacement for course required textbooks.
• We cannot scan books or journals that are in poor or fragile condition, AV materials, plays (unless part of a collection or anthology).
• We cannot scan materials from the following libraries and collections:
  • Architecture Special Collections
  • Fine Arts Library special collections
  • Harry Ransom Center
  • Briscoe Center for American History
  • Stark Center
  • Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

            Request Limits:

• There is no limit to the number of requests you can submit, but no more than 10 requests will be processed for each patron in one day. Submitting more than 10 requests per day will impact the number of days required to fulfill your requests.

How much does it cost?

There is no charge for this service for current students, faculty and staff.