Find Articles - UGS 302: The Parthenon through Ages - Prof. Papalexandrou - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Pick a Search Tool

Libraries Search Box
Search across many of the Libraries electronic and print resources at once. Includes articles, books, ebooks and more.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google to search for scholarly articles. Use the link on this guide or on the Libraries home page to be connected to the library subscription resources instead of hitting a paywall.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, magazine and newspaper articles from across disciplines.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources related to art, architecture and related fields like archaeology.
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
EBSCO search tutorials: http://support.epnet.com/training/tutorials.php
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources from across disciplines.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Type of Tool

About

Start Here

Broad Search Tools & Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Often include a range of sources (scholarly articles, magazine articles, books, patents, etc.) types from many disciplines
Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
One con is that you might be overwhelmed by the number of search results.

Academic Search Complete

Libraries Search Box

Google Scholar

JSTOR

Discipline-specific Article Databases

Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
To choose a database, think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology topics)

Art & Architecture Source

Other databases through the Databases List

(TIP: use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)

Use Combinations of your Search Terms to Find Articles

Refine Your Search

Your first search might not get you everything you need. Refine it by trying different combinations of search terms using AND and OR and use the limiters in the database. Database limiters give you options to limit by resource type including scholarly, peer-reviewed sources, by date, by language and more.

Find the Full Article

Often the article is in the database you are searching either as HTML or a pdf attachment.

If there is only a citation and abstract, click to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.