LibGuides: Public Relations: Case Studies

Case Studies

Case Studies in Strategic Communication
Case studies illustrate the strategies, tactics, and execution of communication campaigns through in-depth coverage of a single situation. CSSC is a peer-reviewed online publication housed at the University of Texas/ Texas Digital Library.
PR Council
Free access to case studies from leading communications firms. Very brief.
PR Newswire
Case studies are often highlighted in PR Newswire. Select "Search within this publication." Then try searching "case study" using quotation marks.
PRSA Case Studies
The PRSA website includes a searchable database of Silver Anvil case studies. PRSA membership account information is needed to view the complete case studies, but example cases are provided without membership.

Sage Business Cases
A digital collection of business cases provides faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates’ interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, public relations, and more. Teaching notes are available for Sage Business Cases. Forward all requests for access to Loretta Wallace. l.wallace@austin.utexas.edu

Thunderbird Case Studies
Glendale: Thunderbird, American Garvin School of International Management
Full text coverage
1997 - present, some exceptions

A Critical Public Relations Approach to Crisis Communication and Management by Huabin Wang
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2022
This book proposes a critical public relations approach to analyzing crisis communication with Malaysia Airlines flight 370 (MH370) disappearance (2014-2018). The study focuses on: the national media representations of Malaysia's image, the process of image reconstruction and national recovery.
Animal Suffering and Public Relations by Núria Almiron (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2023
Animal Suffering and Public Relations conducts an ethical assessment of public relations, mainly persuasive communication and lobbying, as deployed by some of the main businesses involved in the animal-industrial complex. This book is illustrated with international case studies from experts in strategic communication, public relations, lobbying and advocacy, animal ethics, philosophy of law, political philosophy, and social psychology.

Public Relations Case Studies: Strategies & Actions
Public Relations Case Studies: Strategies & Actions is an OER book compiled by Sam Shecter that provides students with real-world PR case studies. The case studies explore PR dilemmas and campaigns in a variety of sectors and circumstances. The book offers learning opportunities about audience analysis, campaign planning, strategy, tactics, message development, media relations, and crisis communications for the PR practitioners of today and the future.

Narratives in Public Communication by Fuyuan Shen (Editor); Heidi Hatfield Edwards (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2024
This volume explores narrative and storytelling in corporate, public health, and political communications. Using surveys, experiments, case studies, and content analyses, the authors explore issues of narrative persuasion and discuss the use of stories in community building, identity construction, and civic engagement.
Social Media and Crisis Communication by Yan Jin (Editor); Lucinda L. Austin (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2022
Specific crisis arenas such as health, corporate, nonprofit, religious, political, and disaster are examined in depth, along with social media platforms and newer technology.

BP and the Deepwater Horizon oil spill: A case study of how company management employed public relations to restore a damaged brand
This article, from the Journal of Marketing Communications, investigates how British Petroleum dealt with the crisis that left lasting serious negative impacts on its brand and reputation.