LibGuides: TC 358: Upward Socioeconomic Mobility in the U.S., John Morán González: Home

Welcome!

This library guide was designed by Gina Bastone, the English Librarian, specifically for TC 358: Upward Socioeconomic Mobility in the United States, taught by Dr. John Morán González.

Research Help

Library staff are available to help you with research for this class in the following ways:

Email Gina, your course librarian, if you run into issues finding articles and books. Her email address is g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu
Schedule a research consult via Zoom – get live help from Gina, tailored to your chosen topic(s) for your research papers.
Use the Ask A Librarian Chat Service, available until 9 pm, Sunday-Thursday.

Research Tools for Your Papers

Gina recommends that you search the following library databases & research tools to find journal articles, books, and book chapters for your papers. If you have questions about how to search these databases, contact Gina!

MLA International Bibliography
From the Modern Language Association, this collection includes scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations on literary studies, literary criticism, film studies, and more. Arguably, the MLA is the scholarly research tool for English literature.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of scholarship and reference works for literary studies. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, a scholarly index to rival the MLA.
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).

UT Library Catalog
Search the UT Libraries' collections of print books, ebooks, and films. You can search for scholarly books about the texts you are reading in class and using for your papers.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a key database for humanities research, with thousands of journals and scholarly books. Note that it is multidisciplinary and may require more exact search terms than MLA.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Humanities Librarian

Gina Bastone

she/they

Contact:

g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Disability Studies, English Literature, LGBTQ Studies, Rhetoric, Women's and Gender Studies

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required