TD 317M: Dance History

Unlimited users.

Updated regularly until completion. Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover performances of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies and experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes.

Users may also make isolated clips from the videos and save them in a free account available for registration set up within the database.

Unlimited users.

Curated by America's longest running dance festival, Jacob’s Pillow, this free resource includes dance clips from the festival spanning from the 1930s to today. Search by artist, genre, or era. The collection is constantly growing, and you can click SIGN UP to receive notice of all new videos.

Unlimited users.

The Broadway on Demand Collection provides an extensive range of content that goes beyond live performances. Along with musicals, plays, and dance performances, the collection includes unique behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses to help researchers gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of the art of theater.

Unlimited users.

OntheBoards.tv is an on-demand website for HD-quality contemporary performance films. Launched in January 2010, this first-of-its-kind site brings contemporary work to a wider public by filming top caliber performances with multiple high-definition cameras, editing the film collaboratively with the artists, and delivering them online as feature-length performance films. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, the performances present a snapshot of the best new works by current leaders in dance, theater and music. The films consist of compelling international and northwest contemporary performance including works by artists who are rarely seen in the US and works that will never be performed again.

Works best on browsers other than Firefox

Unlimited users.

This streaming service has a catalog of over 30,000 titles covering various educational topics and feature films for some 800 producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.

Titles streamed by Kanopy are available either directly from the library catalog or from the UT Kanopy interface linked above. Some titles on the UT Kanopy interface are not immediately available to UT community for streaming. Those titles for which we do not hold streaming rights could be requested by filling in a request form. This form would appear on your screen and forwarded to a staff member for consideration. Given our limited funds, we emphasize study and research needs when making purchase decisions.

Unlimited users.

Full length British theatre productions, interviews with cast and crew, and documentaries about the production. Includes productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays, with teaching guides. This database also includes Broadway HD, opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic and chamber music, as well as theatre from Russia and 20+ from South Asia, and film shorts.

Unlimited users.

The world's leading classical music channel, medici.tv features over 1,800 programs and more than 100 live events broadcast each year. Content includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin, New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg, and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.