Case 1 - Ancient Greece - UGS 302 - Democratic Revolutions - Campa - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Recommended Resources

Encyclopedias - for when you need an overview of a concept, figure, or topic.

The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th ed.
Search for locations, figures, themes. Often provides good foundational information.
Brill's New Pauly
Reference work covering the Classical world and its effects into the middle ages.
Theoi Greek Mythology
Website that gives an overview of Greek mythology and mythological figures.

Overview of life in Athens - Browse chapters or search for terms

Cambridge Companion to Ancient Athens
"This Companion is a comprehensive introduction to the city, its topography and monuments, inhabitants and cultural institutions, religious rituals and politics. Chapters link the religious, cultural, and political institutions of Athens to the physical locales in which they took place."

Overview of Athenian Democracy, created by scholars

Demos Classical Athenian Democracy

Primary texts in translation (you can also find primary texts using the "find books" link to the left)

Loeb Classical Library
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
The entire classical heritage from the ancient Greek and Roman world is represented here in convenient electronic “volumes”. In the Loebs, you can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content across more than 520 volumes from up-to-date texts and accurate and literate English translations facing each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.

Perseus Texts
Primary sources (major texts) covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. All texts and materials believed to be in the public domain are available for free download. These are typically old translations.

Encyclopedia/bibliography (under browse subjects, you can choose "Classics"), The bibliography includes mentions in primary sources

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.

Classics Guide - the resources above should be sufficient, but in case they aren't, this guide created by the Classics Librarian recommends more resources.

Classics Guide

Just for fun!

The Just City by Jo Walton
ISBN: 9780765332660
Publication Date: 2015-01-13
This is first in a series of Science Fiction novels about an experiment (begun by Athena and Apollo) in creating Plato's Republic. An incredibly thought-provoking series of books! This is a just-for-fun recommendation in case you want to read about some of the ideas from this class in a different way!
The Philosopher Kings by Jo Walton
ISBN: 9780765332677
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Book 2
Necessity by Jo Walton
ISBN: 9780765379023
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
Book 3