LibGuides: H S Honors Thesis: Policy & Public Opinion

Policy Information

RAND Documents This link opens in a new window
1948 - current. Unlimited users.
RAND is a nonprofit public policy research institution. It was established after World War II to study national security. In the 1960s it added domestic policy problems to its research agenda. Current areas of research and analysis include national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies. This searchable archive includes more than 17,000 titles dating back to 1948. Some RAND documents are not included in this database. Search the Library Catalog or ask library staff for assistance to locate these.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
1789 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides indexing of many Congressional publications, including Bills, Resolutions, Hearings, Committee Prints, Reports, Documents and Congressional Research Service Reports.
House and Senate Reports and Documents indexed in ProQuest Congressional (1817-1969) are available in full text in the Serial Set database. Our subscription to ProQuest Congressional does not include full text of the Serial Set.
Congressional Hearings after 2013 and House and Senate Documents and Reports indexed in ProQuest Congressional (1995 to present) are available in full text on Govinfo.gov site from the Government Printing Office.

Policy Archive
A comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents. Works best in Firefox.
U.S. Congress: Bill Lookup
Can be searched with keywords (e.g. health care) or with bill abbreviations (e.g. hr5).
Texas Legislature Online: Bill Lookup
Works best when you know the bill number and the year (e.g. hr 8 during 87th legislative session).
Texas Constitution and Statutes
It is important to know which specific code you need!

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world. Reports include public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.