LibGuides: E 350E: Fantasy Medievalism, Birkholz: Home

Recommended Library Resources

Select Oxford Bibliographies

A selection of annotated bibliographic articles across the literature and cinema studies modules in Oxford Bibliographies. These bibliographic articles are helpful if you want to find the major scholarship on a particular topic.

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Search across all of the Oxford Bibliographies. Try author names or the names of major fantasy series/franchises.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.

SF/F Scholarly Resources

Databases

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
A free database hosted by the Texas A&M Libraries, you can search for scholarship on science fiction, horror, fantasy in film, television, and literature.
NOTE: This is not a full-text index. You will need to search UT's Articles & More tool to get PDFs.
The Internet Speculative Fiction Database
A comprehensive bibliographic index of authors, publishers, novels, short stories, anthologies, magazines, and journals in science fiction and adjacent genres. Built as a wiki that anyone can contribute to.
NOTE: This is not an index of scholarship/secondary sources on sci-fi works. It is a bibliography listing works by contributed authors.

Peer-reviewed Journals

Scholarly Databases for Literary Studies

MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Project MUSE
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
JSTOR
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Dissertations and Theses Global
1861 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Humanities Librarian

Gina Bastone

she/they

Contact:

g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Disability Studies, English Literature, LGBTQ Studies, Rhetoric, Women's and Gender Studies

Find the Full Text

As you bravely start your quest in the library search tools, beware the pitfalls and obstacles of index-only databases! Wisened researchers know to search separately for PDFs of journal articles and for books, which could be ebooks or in print. Here are some tips from your class wizard, er, librarian:

Look for the Find It @ UT link. This link is a bit of magic that will search across our holdings for you.
If you don't see a Find It @ UT link, cast your own spell and search for the title in the Library Catalog's Everything search!
If you still can't find the book/article, we may not have a copy. Never fear! You can request it with the aid of our valiant staff through the InterLibrary Loan service.
Gina won't admit to being a mage or wizard (though some folk say she knows magic). But she knows a lot about the library systems. Ask for help if you need it!