Find Background Information and Articles - UGS 303: Legends of the Jews - Prof. Raizen - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Brainstorm Search Terms (Keywords)

Library databases and Google can't be searched the same way so take a few moments to come up with a search strategy before diving into a database.

Step 1: Think about the key concepts of your topic and search those instead of an entire phrases or sentences.

Step 2: Think of other terms you could use that are synonyms or related (they could be a broader or narrower aspect). This often requires that you do a little background research to learn more.

Step 3: Connect your terms using AND and OR:

Remember -

AND narrows your topic (use AND between terms if you want them all to appear in your results)
OR broadens your topic (use OR between terms if you want any, not all, to appear in your results)

Generate Keywords from a Topic
This tool can help you create search terms and formulate an effective search.

Find Encyclopedia, Magazine and Journal Articles

Encyclopedias
Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture This link opens in a new window
1975 - 1950s. Unlimited.
Online encyclopedia covering the history of Jews from 1750 until the 1950s, from Europe to America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas.

Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
2nd edition. Unlimited users.
Updated edition of a much lauded work on Judaism. Features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. It covers diverse areas of the Jewish world and civilization, including Jewish history in all eras, culture, holidays, language, scripture, and religious teachings.

Libraries Search Box
Search across many of the Libraries electronic and print resources at once. Includes articles, books, ebooks and more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles from journals, magazines and newspapers across disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google to search for scholarly sources. Use this link or the link on the library home page to link to UT Libraries subscriptions with your EID rather than hitting a paywall.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly articles across disciplines.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Find articles in Jewish Studies
Updated regularly. Provides a bibliographic resource in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Materials are compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles (in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages) mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library (JNUL).

Where is the article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required