Secondary sources describe, discuss, interpret, comment upon, analyze, evaluate, summarize, and process primary sources. Secondary source materials can be things like books or articles found in scholarly journals that discuss or evaluate someone else's original research.
The Fine Arts Library and other UT Libraries have thousands and thousands of books on all conceivable topics in their collections. You can perform author and/or title searches in The Library Catalog to find both print and eBooks. You can also search by subject headings and keywords.
Keyword Searching
Use keywords to search for artists, art movements, materials, or your topic.
Examples:
Title
Use the title of a book you are looking for in a catalog search.
Example: Among Others: Blackness at MoMA
Subject Search
Use the subject search to find books related to your topic (Advanced Search --> Click on "Any Field" dropdown and select "Subject"; enter a subject search term).
Example:
You can also try browsing the stacks in person at the Fine Arts Library. The books are located on the 5th floor and are cataloged by Library of Congress Classification. Try looking in these sections for the books that you need.
Art-General (N)
Architecture (NA)
Sculpture (NB)
Drawing (NC)
Commercial Art (NC 997)
Painting (ND)
Prints, Graphic Arts (NE)
Decorative Arts (NK)
Design History (NK 1100 - NK 1400)
Furniture (NK 1900 - NK 2750)
Art Theory (NX)
Printing (Z 116 - Z 265)
Photography (TR)
Industrial Design (TS)
Typography/Typesetting (Z 250 - Z251)
Bibliographies can be very useful in collecting a group of information resources on a particular topic, Resources collected and published as bibliographies have the added benefit of being recommended by an expert in the field, though they may not include the most recent publications. Library catalogues are good sources for comprehensive searches of the literature.
Unlimited users.
Updated six times a year. Provides abstracts of the current literature of modern art, photography and design. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present and contemporary art worldwide. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Bibliography of the History of Art includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art).
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. An online multimedia library from the Bibliothèque Nationale of France. Covers the 16th - 21st centuries as well as providing texts, images, animation, and sound files related to the French experience of the 19th century.
An English language overview is available.
Unlimited users.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Provides access to the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with over 49 million bibliographic records for audio-visual materials, books, maps, musical scores, newspapers, and periodicals in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge. Many of the holdings for materials at the University of Texas Libraries are included, as well as holdings for other libraries in Texas, the United States and worldwide.
These are usually multi-volume sets that chronicle the entire output of an artist's career. Extensively researched, they are often considered definitive pieces of scholarship. While not every artist merits a catalogue raisonné, the library has examples for many artists. Catalogues Raisonnés are also often broken down by media, for instance "the complete paintings" or "the complete drawings." To find catalogues raisonné, search "catalogues raisonne" AND the artists name as a keyword search.
African-American Art: A Visual and Cultural History
by
African American Visual Arts: From Slavery to the Present
by
Among Others: Blackness at MoMA
The Art of History: African American Women Artists Engage the Past
by
Black Artists in America: From the Great Depression to Civil Rights
by
History of African-American Artists: From 1792 to the Present
by
The Routledge Companion to African American Art History
by
Stick to the Skin: African American and Black British Art, 1965-2015
by
We Wanted a Revolution: Black Radical Women, 1965-85: A Sourcebook
by
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.