How to Work with Sensitive Data

Linking Sensitive Data by Peter Christen; Thilina Ranbaduge; Rainer Schnell This book provides modern technical answers to the legal requirements of pseudonymisation as recommended by privacy legislation. It covers topics such as modern regulatory frameworks for sharing and linking sensitive information, concepts and algorithms for privacy-preserving record linkage and their computational aspects, practical considerations such as dealing with dirty and missing data, as well as privacy, risk, and performance assessment measures.

Data Management for Researchers by Kristin Briney A comprehensive guide to everything scientists need to know about data management, this book is essential for researchers who need to learn how to organize, document and take care of their own data. Chapter 7 is on sensitive data.

Protecting Privacy in Data Release by Giovanni Livraga This book presents a comprehensive approach to protecting sensitive information when large data collections are released by their owners. It addresses three key requirements of data privacy: the protection of data explicitly released, the protection of information not explicitly released but potentially vulnerable due to a release of other data, and the enforcement of owner-defined access restrictions to the released data.

Archives and Records: Privacy, Personality Rights, and Access by Čtvrtník, Mikuláš This open access book addresses the protection of privacy and personality rights in public records, records management, historical sources, and archives; and historical and current access to them in a broad international comparative perspective. Considering the question "can archiving pose a security risk to the protection of sensitive data and human rights?", it analyses data security and presents several significant cases of the misuse of sensitive personal data, such as census data or medical records. It examines archival inflation and the minimisation and reduction of data in public records and archives, including data anonymisation and pseudonymisation, and the risks of deanonymisation and reidentification of persons.

Handbook on Using Administrative Data for Research and Evidence-based Policy by Shawn Cole, Iqbal Dhaliwal, Anja Sautmann, Lars Vilhuber This Handbook, aims to provide researchers and data providers with guidance on best practices in legal and technical areas; and perhaps just as importantly, to furnish a set of compelling examples of success that can serve as inspiration for others. Includes chapters on physically protecting sensitive data and data use agreements.

Medical Data Privacy Handbook by Aris Gkoulalas-Divanis (Editor); Grigorios Loukides (Editor) This handbook covers Electronic Medical Record (EMR) systems, which enable the storage, management, and sharing of massive amounts of demographic, diagnosis, medication, and genomic information. It presents privacy-preserving methods for medical data, ranging from laboratory test results to doctors' comments.

Randomized Response and Related Methods by James Alan Fox Randomized response is a data collection strategy specifically designed for surveys of a sensitive nature. By establishing a probabilistic connection between question and answer, randomized response and related methods protect respondents who are asked to disclose personal information.