LibGuides: E 328: The British Novel in the Nineteenth Century, Carol MacKay: Home

Welcome!

This library guide was designed by Gina Bastone, the English Librarian, specifically for E 328: The British Novel in the Nineteenth Century, taught by Prof. Carol MacKay.

Research Help

Email Gina, your course librarian, if you run into issues finding articles and books. Her email address is g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu
Schedule a research consult – get live help from Gina, tailored to your chosen topic(s) for the panel presentation or your research papers.
Use the Ask A Librarian Chat Service, available Monday-Friday, 10-6 pm. See the library's Hours page for more information.

Resources for Research in this Class

MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this collection includes scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Recommended for your research papers.

UT Library Catalog
Search the UT Libraries' collections of print books, ebooks, and films. You can search for scholarly books about the texts you are reading in class, as well as the texts themselves.
Recommended for your research papers.
The JSTOR Understanding Series
This innovative tool from JSTOR allows you to browse the entire text of a literary work, and see the scholarly articles that cite particular lines of text. It's an excellent way to find scholars' close readings of a particular passage. It includes most of the course texts and these authors' major works.
Recommended for both your panel presentations and your papers.
**Note: This tool sometimes does not work off campus, and it can be slow to load. Notify Gina if you run into trouble with it.**

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Find brief biographical articles about key figures in British history, including Dickens, the Brontës, Eliot, and their contemporaries.
Recommended for your panel presentations.
Note: We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session.
Literature Online (LION)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship and reference works for literary studies. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, a scholarly index to rival the MLA.
Recommended for your presentations and your papers.
Gale Literature Resource Center
A thorough database that includes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works. It includes the long-running series Dictionary of Literary Biography, which is particularly helpful for your panels.
Recommended for your panel presentations.

Humanities Librarian

Gina Bastone

she/they

Contact:

g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Disability Studies, English Literature, LGBTQ Studies, Rhetoric, Women's and Gender Studies

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required