Find Sources - UGS 303 - Religion and Animals - Graber - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Articles on a Topic

For this assignment, you might need a few types of sources:

Source Type	Start Here
Published and subject-area Encyclopedias	See the suggestions below, or you can use Gale eBooks.
Scholarly/Journal Articles	Start with the library search bar - advanced search. Try the "peer reviewed" limit. You can also use the recommended library databases below.
Books	Start with the library search bar - advanced search. You can limit to books. See more tips on the find books tab. Consider publisher and author as you decide if a book is scholarly. You might only read and use the chapters most relevant to your research.

Keyword tool
Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.

Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases, rather than whole sentences.

Is the academic achievement of immigrant students impacted by national policy debates on immigration?)

For each main concept, brainstorm a few synonyms and related terms (broader or narrower) that get at that concept:

Key Concepts

immigrant students

academic achievement

policy debates

Related Terms

undocumented students (more specific)

immigrants

learning

academic performance

achievement (more general)

success

academic success

public debate

policy ideas

policy proposals

attitudes (more general/related)

negative attitudes

positive attitudes

Combine key terms using AND and OR:
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles).
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).
Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search.

Reference works and books recommended by Dr. Graber

Encyclopedia of Religion
ISBN: 0028657330

Publication Date: 2004-12-17

To access: click "Gale eBooks" under view online. Then use the search bar marked "search within publication."

Encyclopaedia of Islam

Unlimited users.
Updated irregularly. We have access to editions two and three. Includes articles on all aspects of the Islamic World. Discusses religion, history, politics, culture, distinguished Muslims, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, and other topics. Permits searching in both English and Arabic transcription.
The special fonts that are needed to use this database can be downloaded from the opening screen of the database.
Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Encyclopaedia Judaica

Unlimited users.
Updated edition of a much lauded work on Judaism. Features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. It covers diverse areas of the Jewish world and civilization, including Jewish history in all eras, culture, holidays, language, scripture, and religious teachings.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Michael Hutchins (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414486697

Publication Date: 2011-03-09

To access - look under "view online" and click "Gale eBooks." Use the search bar that says "Search within publication."
The Routledge Handbook of Religion and Animal Ethics by Andrew Linzey (Editor); Clair Linzey (Editor)
ISBN: 0429953127

Publication Date: 2018-09-29

To access: click on "Taylor and Francis eBooks" under Access Online. If you get an error, see the directions under this link. Click "read online" then you can search within the book!
Animals and the Human Imagination by Aaron Gross (Editor); Anne Vallely (Editor); Jonathan Safran Foer (Foreword by); Wendy Doniger (Afterword by)
ISBN: 9780231152969

Publication Date: 2012-04-24

Print book only.

Recommended Library Databases

Multidisciplinary

Library search bar - advanced search
The advanced search version of the search bar on the library homepage. Use options to limit to books or to scholarly/peer reviewed articles.

Academic Search Complete

Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR

Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Subject specific

ATLA Religion Database

Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.

Reference works

Gale eBooks

Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.