LibGuides: UGS 302: Democracy: it's Complicated / Keith: Choosing and developing a researchable topic

The power of background information reading

Academc sources are hard to read because they are written by experts for experts in the same field. Therefore, they assume a level of familiarity with:

The established conversation in and history of the field - the questions scholars are asking, the solutions that have been proposed and assessed
Jargon - vocabulary the general public doesn't typically use
Research methodologies used in the field and the limitations they may have
Stakeholders - who cares about this topic? Who is impacted? Who is trying to do something about it?
Measurements - what data is the field using to measure and assess?

Gale eBooks

Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Oxford Handbooks Online

Unlimited users.
The Oxford Handbooks contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
SAGE Knowledge

Unlimited users.
Selected titles only. Platform for Sage book and reference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Only select book titles purchased by the UT Libraries are fully accessible.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Evaluate Research Methodologies

Authors should always mention the limitations of their studies and their conflicts of interest. These usually appear either in the conclusion or separately after the conclusion. It is difficult to assess a methodology you are unfamiliar with. Use this resource.

SAGE Research Methods

Unlimited users.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.