Find Articles in the UT Libraries - UGS 302: Tales of the Trojan War - Rabinowitz - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Suggested Library Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases
Discipline Specific Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles from across disciplines.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across scholarly literature using the Google interface. Access GoogleScholar through this guide or the Libraries website to be connected to our subscriptions instead of hitting a paywall.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from across disciplines. Mostly retrospective but includes some current content.

Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Ancient Greek and Latin literature and languages, Classical Studies

Updated annually. Corresponds to the printed L'Annee Philologique, the international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and classical studies. Provides 350,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to the present, with 12,500 new records added each year. The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Zenon DYABOLA (Free) This link opens in a new window
Antiquities
This is the free version of the DYABOLA database. DYABOLA (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity) provides citations to books, articles, and essays on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history, excluding US and Canada
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Search for your topic and find relevant sources you can then look up using the Libraries search box.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.

Where is the article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.

There is no Find it at UT button!

Get Stuff the Libraries Doesn't Own

If we don't have a book or article or book you need, we can still get it for you through Interlibrary Services.

Either use the Get a Scan button if you are searching in the Libraries and there is no full text, or request the item through Interlibrary Services.

The first time you do this, you'll be asked to set up an account.

How much is it? Its free!

How many times can you do this? There is no limit.

Follow the Research

TOCS-IN This link opens in a new window
Sometimes citations abbreviate the titles of journals, which can make them hard to track down. If its a book, check to see if they have an abbreviations list. If not, look up the abbreviation in this database by using the links under Journals Covered.
Updated quarterly. TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) provides tables of contents of about 200 journals of interest to classicists. Where possible, links to online abstracts or full text are provided (about 6%).