China Studies

Updated twice a year. Provides full text Chinese ebooks and reprint journals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes access to "Duxiu," a meta search engine with limited access to full text of Chinese ebooks, periodicals, dissertation/thesis, and patents.

Please note that Duxiu searches may bring up contents outside UT's full text coverage which you will not be able to download. Please use Interlibrary Services to request these materials.

Use of this resource is restricted to users with PCs and IE browser only. Page image and its full text (with provided OCR tool to convert image to text) can be printed one page at a time. Simple and Advanced Search methods are provided with all searches supporting Simplified Chinese characters.

Users may click “推荐” to recommend the title to the librarian for purchase

Duxiu provides full-text searching and limited full-text access to millions of Chinese language books, journals and newspaper articles primarily published in China.

Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.

Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.

If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

The access to these resources are provided by National Central Library. Resources include:古籍影像檢索, 古籍聯合目錄, 台灣家譜聯合目錄, 金石拓片資料, 當代名人手稿典藏系統, 古籍文獻與歷史圖像, etc.

Based on Unicode, covers a wide array of ancient Chinese dictionaries, etymologies, literature and archaeological writings etc. Covers over 30,000 ancient Chinese titles, Database is updated and expanded continuously. For better usage, please consult “Help” on the database.

Contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history. The database is very useful for keyword searching. UT users have limited access through the free version. Click “免費使用” (the left-hand button) to enter.

HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).

University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication

Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.

The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.

中國方志庫 is one of the databases in 愛如生古籍數據庫 in 愛如生 (Erudition). At the Erudition Central Server, select 愛如生古籍數據庫 and click login. Then click 中國方志庫 and then中國方志庫. 初籍 (中國方志庫. 初籍 is the only database in 愛如生UTL currently has access to.)

Full texts of 3,000+ titles (and growing) of ancient books, in tens of thousands of volumes, annotated and punctuated. Books are published mostly by Beijing Zhonghua Shu ju, but also by other publishers of classic titles.