Video:FAS Hurricane Harvey Response - Employees from the Environmental Health and Safety, Facilities Services and UTPD discuss the response to Hurricane Harvey at The Marine Science Institute in Port Aransas and main campus in Austin. October 20, 2017.
Chris BrensingerSteps Up to Meet the Challenges of Restoring the Marine Science Institute
With summer heat and rising temperatures, rattlesnakes are more noticeable on MSI campus and surrounding areas.
Be careful and be aware of your surroundings
Walk in clear paths, making sure to look ahead
When approached too closely to a rattler, warning noise is a rattle
good idea not to wear headphones or ear buds while walking around outdoors
Avoid tall grass and shady areas next to buildings or other structures
Snakes seek cooler areas to escape the heat
If you see a rattlesnake:
keep your distance, walk away calmly
call security if on campus: 749-6738, cellular: 361-332-9641
call PA Police if off-campus in an area that may be a potential danger to others: 749-6241
If you, or someone with you, is bitten by a rattlesnake:
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by Peter Urben (Editor)Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals. Primary and more specialized sources are easily traced, and this new edition includes available record updates, also adding a number of new records. In this newly updated and expanded edition, the content is presented in a clear and user-friendly format.
Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Chemical Hazards in the Workplace by Ronald M. ScottThis book introduces you to Industrial Toxicology - and is especially valuable for the engineer, scientists, or manager with responsibility - but no previous education or experience in the subject. Very "User Friendly." Text at the upper undergraduate and graduate level.
Publication Date: 2020-01-29
A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances by Pradyot PatnaikThe definitive guide to the hazardous properties of chemical compounds Correlating chemical structure with toxicity to humans and the environment, and the chemical structure of compounds to their hazardous properties, "A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances, Third Edition" allows users to assess the toxicity of a substance even when no experimental data exists. Thus, it bridges the gap between hazardous materials and chemistry. Extensively updated and expanded, this reference: Examines organics, metals and inorganics, industrial solvents, common gases, particulates, explosives, and radioactive substances, covering everything from toxicity and carcinogenicity to flammability and explosive reactivity to handling and disposal practices Arranges hazardous chemical substances according to their chemical structures and functional groups for easy reference Includes updated information on the toxic, flammable, and explosive properties of chemical substances Covers additional metals in the chapters on toxic and reactive metals Updates the threshold exposure limits in the workplace air for a number of substances Features the latest information on industrial solvents and toxic and flammable gases Includes numerous tables, formulas, and a glossary for quick referenceBecause it provides information that enables those with a chemistry background to perform assessments without prior data, this comprehensive reference appeals to chemists, chemical engineers, toxicologists, and forensic scientists, as well as industrial hygienists, occupational physicians, Hazmat professionals, and others in related fields.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals by Karel VerschuerenThis book contains all the information needed to use potentially dangerous chemicals prudently. Arranged in alphabetical order by chemical name, this reference provides: synonyms, CAS numbers, and molecular and structural formulas. It covers natural and man-made sources of a substance, as well as its uses and various formulations. Each substance is categorized by physical and chemical properties, air pollution factors, water and soil pollution factors, and biological effects. Pesticides, detergents, phtalates, polynuclear aromatics, and polychlorinated biphenyls are all investigated in detail. The book also features information on aquatic toxicity and biological effects, odor thresholds, sampling and analysis data, and structural formulas of over 3,000 chemicals. Tables have been refined to focus on environmentally related materials.
Call Number: ONLINE BOOK ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2008-11-10
Hazmat Data by Richard P. PohanishThe HazMat Data, 2nd Edition provides a detailed reference for emergency responders and people who transport chemicals. Considering the events of September 11, the book is especially oriented toward first responder and emergency management personnel. Additions to this new Second Edition include Spanish language synonyms for all entries, and an increased overall number of synonyms. New to this edition is information on chemical warfare (CW) agents and Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)-nerve gasses, blister agents/vesicants, "blood agents," choking/pulmonary agents, and crowd-control agents (tear gasses, pepper sprays, etc.)-that might be used as weapons of terrorism. It clearly explains symptoms of exposure and appropriate treatment for the exposure when available, and describes what to do in an emergency situation. The book also gives the NFPA hazard classifications, as well as chemical hazard class information. Newly updated, The HazMat Data, 2nd Editio provides a comprehensive, up-to-date summary of this vital information.
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety by A. Keith FurrExpanded and updated, The CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition provides information on planning and building a facility, developing an organization infrastructure, planning for emergencies and contingencies, choosing the correct equipment, developing operational plans, and meeting regulatory requirements. Still the essential reference tool, the New Edition helps you organize your safety efforts to adhere to the latest regulations and use the newest technology. Thoroughly revised, the CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition includes new OSHA laboratory safety standards, the 1994 NRC radiation safety standards, guidelines for X-ray use in hospitals, enforcement of standards for dealing with blood-borne pathogens, OSHA actions covering hazardous waste operations and emergency response, and the latest CDC guidelines for research with microbial hazards. Every word on every page has been scrutinized, and literally hundreds of changes have been made to bring the material up to date. See what's new in the New Edition New figures and tables illustrating the new material Internet references in addition to journal articles Changes in the Clean Air Act regarding incineration of hospital, medical, and infectious waste Obsolete articles removed and replaced - over one hundred pages of new material New information on respiratory protection guidelines
Chemical Technicians' Ready Reference Handbook, 5th Edition by Jack T. Ballinger; Gershon J. ShugarPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. THE DEFINITIVE CHEMICAL PROCESS INDUSTRY REFERENCE--FULLY REVISED Updated to reflect the latest developments in operational procedures for today's sophisticated chemical technologies, Chemical Technicians' Ready Reference Handbook, Fifth Edition, remains the undisputed classic in the field. Expanded to include coverage for process operators, this authoritative resource contains in-depth details on chemical safety, laboratory procedures, chemical nomenclature, basic electricity, laboratory statistics, and instrumental techniques. Step-by-step directions for performing virtually every laboratory task are also included in this practical guide. COMPREHENSIVE COVERAGE INCLUDES: Chemical process industry workers and government regulations Chemical plant and laboratory safety Chemical handling and hazard communication Handling compressed gases Pressure and vacuum Mathematics review and conversion tables Standard operating procedures Laboratory glassware pH measurement Basic electricity Sampling Laboratory filtration Recrystallization The balance Gravimetric analysis Preparation of solutions Process analyzers Plumbing, valves, and pumps Physical properties and determinations Extraction Distillation and evaporation Inorganic and organic chemistry review Chemical calculations and concentration expressions Volumetric analysis Chromatography Spectroscopy Atomic absorption spectroscopy
Call Number: QD 61 S58 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-15
First Aid Manual for Chemical Accidents by Marc J. Lefevre; Shirley A. Conibear (Revised by)Sudden exposure to dangerous chemicals requires prompt, effective action in order to avoid serious injury or even death. First Aid Manual for Chemical Accidents gives concise, specific advice for dealing with medical emergencies caused by exposure to a variety of commonly used industrial and household chemicals and pesticides. The Second Edition has been revised and expanded to include more than 600 chemicals, and also features an appendix that identifies more than 250 pesticides by generic and trade names, as well as an appendix of all the chemicals cited, organized by Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number.
Prudent Practices in the Laboratory by Natl. Research Council Staff (Editor); Prudent Practices in the Laboratory Committee; Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology Staff; Division on Earth and Life Studies StaffPrudent Practices in the Laboratory--the book that has served for decades as the standard for chemical laboratory safety practice--now features updates and new topics. This revised edition has an expanded chapter on chemical management and delves into new areas, such as nanotechnology, laboratory security, and emergency planning. Developed by experts from academia and industry, with specialties in such areas as chemical sciences, pollution prevention, and laboratory safety, Prudent Practices in the Laboratory provides guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. The book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more. Prudent Practices in the Laboratory will continue to serve as the leading source of chemical safety guidelines for people working with laboratory chemicals: research chemists, technicians, safety officers, educators, and students.