Marine Science

Birds of the World (BOW) is a research database that brings together scholarly content from four major works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World. It also merges millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. Includes over 10,800 species accounts with details on appearance, taxonomy, habitat, diet, breeding, behavior; 249 bird family accounts; range maps, eBird abundance maps, and animated migration maps; color illustrations of every species and many subspecies; media galleries showing the bird throughout its life cycle (photos, videos, and sound recordings from the Macaulay Library); an avian taxonomy explorer with regional filters, and more.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) contains metadata records —information describing an item —for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website. The DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.

The Docuseek Complete Collection (3rd edition) provides exclusive educational streaming access to over 1900 important documentaries from renowned distribution leaders, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, Terra Nova Films, and Women Make Movies. This collection will include 2400 titles by December 2023.

Curated collection of 35 documentaries and teacher’s guides that can be used in a wide range of subject areas, from Asian, environmental, and Indigenous studies to law, geography, anthropology, global health, policy, and conservation biology. The films in the collection were selected by faculty from Whittier College, Yale, Bates College, Brandeis, and NYU who also wrote the teacher's guides.

Updated frequently. A collection of streaming videos compiled for training and developing teachers. It includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Search and browse the collection by grade level; subject (mathematics, language arts, etc.); topic (special education, literacy, multicultural education, etc.); educational theory; and other criteria. As of the November 20, 2012 release, Education in Video provides 3,874 titles, equaling approximately 1,025 hours of video.

Users may also make isolated clips from the videos and save them in a free account available for registration set up within the database.

Updated irregularly. Online access to lectures and talks by recognized experts. Series include

1. Agricultural Genetics
2. Antivirals
3. Vaccines
4. Antibiotic Resistance
5. The Cell Division Cycle
6. Gastroenterology and Hepatology
7. Epigenetics
8. Chloroplast
9. Nanomedicine
10. Evolutionary Physiology

Updated daily. A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts that exist in digital form. Includes texts, audio, moving images, software, and archived web pages. Internet Archive's Wayback Machine has archived over 150 billion web pages from 1996 to the current year.

Contains over 1,500 hours of footage of the full surviving broadcast run of network television's longest running program. Thousands of interviews, panels, and debates are available online in one cross-searchable interface.

Currently includes over 1,400 streaming videos, providing exceptional range of content with documentaries and series from PBS. Includes selected episodes from series such as Nova, Nature, Frontline, and American experience. New content will be added until September 2023.

Updated regularly. Teachingbooks.net is a collection of multimedia materials about children's and young adult books, authors, and illustrators. The digital library offers tens of thousands of resources supporting books being read in the K–12 curriculum, including:

• Original video and audio productions with authors and illustrators, including interviews, book readings, video book trailers and other resources to infuse multimedia into literacy activities
• Links to author websites and blogs
• Ready-to-use, evaluated lesson plans and book discussion guides
• Lists of book award winners and nominees, including the Texas Bluebonnet Awards

Simply search by your book/author/illustrator or browse the collection by grade level, subject/genre or type of resource (interview, book reading, etc).

Updated regularly. This collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels and archival and public affairs footage. The full runs of newsreels from United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel from 1929 through 1967 are included. On 14th September 2012, American History in Video was updated. As of this update there are 6,002 videos (including 3,211 documentaries) equaling 1,616 hours in American History in Video.

Users may also make isolated clips from the videos and save them in a free account available for registration set up within the database.

A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.

Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.

Provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to

Users may also make isolated clips from the videos and save them in a free account available for registration set up within the database.

This resource’s unique content is primarily composed of video oral histories recording the African American experience in the first-person. Testimonies captured in The HistoryMakers Collection interviews are conducted in homes and offices across the United States and abroad. The interviews reveal the broad scope of narratives of African American men and women who have made significant contributions to American life, history, and culture during the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

The world's leading classical music channel, medici.tv features over 1,800 programs and more than 100 live events broadcast each year. Content includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin, New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg, and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.

Student Access offers University of Texas users instant access to more than 550 full-length Met performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. The site and its content are fully accessible on most mobile devices (smartphones and tablets) directly through the website as well. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date. Every opera includes an English synopsis, with synopses in multiple languages available for many operas.

Updated regularly until completion. Scheduled to contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.

Performances will cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century.

Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.